#1  
Old 28th January 2012, 05:42
dgmufasa dgmufasa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 86
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Default gateway for ispconfig 3

Hello all,

How does one set the default gateway under ispconfig 3? I have other machines. They correctly identify the nameserver to use and return correct answers.

Quote:
root@simba:ROOT~ #nslookup klickitup.com
Server: 192.168.1.70
Address: 192.168.1.70#53

Name: klickitup.com
Address: 192.168.1.70
The machine with Ispconfig 3 on it does not correctly identify the nameserver and instead looks for the gateway.

Quote:
** server can't find klickitup.com.gateway.2wire.net: REFUSED

[root@zazu var]# nslookup klickitup.com
;; Got recursion not available from 91.198.22.76, trying next server
;; Got recursion not available from 91.198.22.76, trying next server
Server: 192.168.1.254
Address: 192.168.1.254#53

** server can't find klickitup.com.gateway.2wire.net: REFUSED

[root@zazu var]#
192.168.1.254 is the Gateway 2-wire router



91.198.22.76 is the host provider

Quote:
root@simba:ROOT~ #nslookup 91.198.22.76
Server: 192.168.1.70
Address: 192.168.1.70#53

Non-authoritative answer:
76.22.198.91.in-addr.arpa name = ns4.mydyndns.org.

Authoritative answers can be found from:
22.198.91.in-addr.arpa nameserver = ns2.dynamicnetworkservices.net.
22.198.91.in-addr.arpa nameserver = ns3.dynamicnetworkservices.net.
22.198.91.in-addr.arpa nameserver = ns1.dynamicnetworkservices.net.
22.198.91.in-addr.arpa nameserver = ns4.dynamicnetworkservices.net.
ns1.dynamicnetworkservices.net internet address = 208.78.70.100
ns1.dynamicnetworkservices.net has AAAA address 2001:500:90::100
ns2.dynamicnetworkservices.net internet address = 204.13.250.100
ns3.dynamicnetworkservices.net internet address = 208.78.71.100
ns3.dynamicnetworkservices.net has AAAA address 2001:500:94::100
ns4.dynamicnetworkservices.net internet address = 204.13.251.100

root@simba:ROOT~ #
Can someone point me in the direction of how to set the default nameserver in an ispconfig 3 installation?

TIA
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 28th January 2012, 13:02
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

You can set the nameservers in /etc/resolv.conf.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th January 2012, 15:40
dgmufasa dgmufasa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 86
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hi and thanks for the response

Before, everything was working. When looking at the /etc/resolv.conf, I see
Quote:
; generated by /sbin/dhclient-script
search gateway.2wire.net
nameserver 91.198.22.76
nameserver 192.168.1.254
Is there a place to do some kind of definition so that the list of gateways will ~always~ include 192.168.1.70 (nameserver)? Whenever I just add the nameserver to /etc/resolv.conf

Quote:

vi /etc/resolv.conf
; generated by /sbin/dhclient-script
search gateway.2wire.net
nameserver 192.168.1.70
nameserver 91.198.22.76
nameserver 192.168.1.254
and start working, everything is OK. but the minute I do:

Quote:
/etc/init.d/nameserver restart OR /etc/init.d/network restart
then I am back to the same problem

TIA

Last edited by dgmufasa; 28th January 2012 at 15:46.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th January 2012, 15:57
midcarolina midcarolina is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 254
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

TIA,

From what I can see in your #cat /etc/resolv.conf you have added a gateway as a nameserver. I could be wrong here, but I don't think that this will work.

Not sure what distribution you are using, but if the nameservers in /etc/resolv.conf are correct, you should check the ifcfg-eth0 for the default gateway. On my distribution that is found here:

/etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/

Hope this is helpful
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th January 2012, 16:12
dgmufasa dgmufasa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 86
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Thank you for your help. Everything is working again.

I went to: /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts

Quote:
[root@zazu network-scripts]# cp ifcfg-eth0 ifcfg-eth0.01.12.2011
[root@zazu network-scripts]# vi ifcfg-eth0

[root@zazu network-scripts]# /etc/init.d/named restart
Stopping named: [ OK ]
Starting named: [ OK ]

[root@zazu network-scripts]# vi /etc/resolv.conf
[root@zazu network-scripts]# nslookup klickmeup.com
Server: 192.168.1.70
Address: 192.168.1.70#53

Name: klickmeup.com
Address: 192.168.1.70

old def of ifcfg-eth0:
Quote:
DEVICE=eth0
NM_CONTROLLED=yes
ONBOOT=yes
HWADDR=00:22:68:37:7f:4d
TYPE=Ethernet
BOOTPROTO=none
IPADDR=192.168.1.70
PREFIX=24
GATEWAY=192.168.1.254
DNS1=91.198.22.76
DEFROUTE=yes
IPV4_FAILURE_FATAL=yes
IPV6INIT=no
NAME="System eth0"
UUID=5fb06bd0-0bb0-7ffb-45f1-d6edd65f3e03
NETMASK=255.255.255.0
USERCTL=no
DNS2=192.168.1.25

new def:
Quote:
DEVICE=eth0
NM_CONTROLLED=yes
ONBOOT=yes
HWADDR=00:22:68:37:7f:4d
TYPE=Ethernet
BOOTPROTO=none
IPADDR=192.168.1.70
PREFIX=24
GATEWAY=192.168.1.254
DNS1=192.168.1.70
DEFROUTE=yes
IPV4_FAILURE_FATAL=yes
IPV6INIT=no
NAME="System eth0"
UUID=5fb06bd0-0bb0-7ffb-45f1-d6edd65f3e03
NETMASK=255.255.255.0
USERCTL=no
DNS2=91.198.22.76
The only thing is that the gateway still appears after bouncing the system. But, everything is working OK and the gateway is listed last - so - theoretically, I should be safe - right?

Quote:
; generated by /sbin/dhclient-script
search gateway.2wire.net
nameserver 192.168.1.70
nameserver 91.198.22.76
nameserver 192.168.1.254
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28th January 2012, 16:20
midcarolina midcarolina is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 254
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

I am glad that it is working. My first answer would be to leave it alone and keep a close watch on your error logs, then go from here. I have seen redundant information (or unused) information in the nameservers and eth0 files that had no effect on the system at all, and have tried others that broke it right away.

That being said, again, I would leave well enough alone, but check my error logs very closely.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28th January 2012, 16:22
dgmufasa dgmufasa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 86
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

Hi Midcarolina - will do. Thank you again for all the help
Cheers!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel 82815 Video Card & Ubuntu 8.10 harvey527 Kernel Questions 8 5th November 2010 14:51
User creating shoevring Developers' Forum 7 25th July 2010 10:17
amavis: (!!)WARN: all primary virus scanners failed, considering ba jariasca Installation/Configuration 13 20th April 2010 17:34
Admin Program for Virtual Users and Domains Postfix courier etc...(Ubuntu 8.04)? the1rob HOWTO-Related Questions 11 4th August 2009 04:54
Exim MTA dazblade Server Operation 4 16th July 2007 18:42


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.