Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 24th January 2012, 12:32
RioSif RioSif is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 31
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Website works without www but not with www

Hello there and thanks for your great tuts!
I installed centos 6.2, nginx and ISPconfig 3 with your perfect server tutorial.
I made it dns server and after some effort i finily made it setting the dns correctly and make my domains work from my server but until that time i made dns entries and delete then again till it work.
The same with adding sites with the ISPConfig 3. I added a site then delete it then recreated etc.
Now i have two sites working with the demo page of ISPConfig 3. At dns they have the same records and at sites panel same settings two. The one works ok with www and without(i redirect www to non-www) but the other doesn't work with www. It returns 404.
The working site is k00.me, and the problematic one is riosif.gr.
Here are the configs:
k00.me:
named.conf.local
Code:
zone "k00.me" {
        type master;
        allow-transfer {none;};
        file "/var/named/pri.k00.me";
};
pri.k00.me
Code:
$TTL        14400
@       IN      SOA     ns1.k00.me. admin.k00.me. (
                        2012012302       ; serial, todays date + todays serial #
                        86400              ; refresh, seconds
                        7200              ; retry, seconds
                        3600000              ; expire, seconds
                        86400 )            ; minimum, seconds
;

ftp 14400 A        79.143.185.124
k00.me. 14400 A        79.143.185.124
k00.me. 14400      MX    0   k00.me.
k00.me. 86400      NS        ns1.k00.me.
k00.me. 86400      NS        ns2.k00.me.
localhost.k00.me. 14400 A        127.0.0.1
ns1 86400 A        79.143.185.124
ns2 86400 A        79.143.185.124
webmail 14400 A        79.143.185.124
www 14400      CNAME        k00.me.
riosif.gr:

named.conf.local
Code:
zone "riosif.gr" {
        type master;
        allow-transfer {none;};
        file "/var/named/pri.riosif.gr";
};
pri.riosif.gr:
Code:
$TTL        14400
@       IN      SOA     ns1.riosif.gr. admin.riosif.gr. (
                        2012012401       ; serial, todays date + todays serial #
                        86400              ; refresh, seconds
                        7200              ; retry, seconds
                        3600000              ; expire, seconds
                        86400 )            ; minimum, seconds
;

ftp 14400 A        79.143.185.124
localhost.riosif.gr. 14400 A        127.0.0.1
ns1 86400 A        79.143.185.124
ns2 86400 A        79.143.185.124
riosif.gr. 14400 A        79.143.185.124
riosif.gr. 14400      MX    0   riosif.gr.
riosif.gr. 86400      NS        ns1.riosif.gr.
riosif.gr. 86400      NS        ns2.riosif.gr.
webmail 14400 A        79.143.185.124
www 14400      CNAME        riosif.gr.
And one more thing i noticed is that i can't see www.riosif.gr from my local computer but when i do an nslookup from my server i get:
Code:
[root@ns1 ~]# nslookup www.riosif.gr
Server:         127.0.0.1
Address:        127.0.0.1#53

www.riosif.gr   canonical name = riosif.gr.
Name:   riosif.gr
Address: 79.143.185.124
Code:
[root@ns1 ~]# nslookup riosif.gr
Server:         127.0.0.1
Address:        127.0.0.1#53

Name:   riosif.gr
Address: 79.143.185.124
Your help would be priceless! Thank you in advance
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th January 2012, 12:54
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,567
Thanks: 791
Thanked 4,979 Times in 3,900 Posts
Default

ensure that you selected "auto subdomain www" in the second website too.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th January 2012, 14:28
RioSif RioSif is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 31
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Finally it seems that it was a browser catching problem.
Problem solved but thanks for the reply
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quota Exceeded errors IKShadow Installation/Configuration 14 20th January 2011 16:39
new website cannot be located prithwis Installation/Configuration 3 23rd October 2010 11:38
URL with and without www bhwong Installation/Configuration 2 25th May 2010 03:40
squirrelmail and postfix witoszek General 12 1st December 2009 18:07
Security problem 2 ???? the revenge :) albertux Installation/Configuration 2 22nd September 2009 18:44


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.