Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14th July 2006, 16:16
fobicodam fobicodam is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Posts: 346
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via MSN to fobicodam
Question ISPConfig on port 80

Is there any "technical" problem if i put a global alias /admin pointing to the ispconfig folder on the main apache (port 80)?

Some clients argue they cant get port 81 because o proxys, i know you will say something about keeping ispconfig isolated, but its really a mess to me... plus, they used to get the control panel by /admin address.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th July 2006, 18:13
brent.stephens brent.stephens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 32
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You don't want to do this. You could try using mod_proxy and mod_proxy_html and set up a vhost in your apache on port 443 using the same cert as ISPC. Not sure if it will work, but its definitely in a much much MUCH safer vein than what you are suggesting.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th July 2006, 18:30
fobicodam fobicodam is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Posts: 346
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via MSN to fobicodam
Default

Yes, its more safer to fax a requirement a do it manually over a intranet, but its not what i need. I need to access ISPConfig panels from http://mysite.com/admin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th July 2006, 19:38
brent.stephens brent.stephens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 32
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fobicodam
Yes, its more safer to fax a requirement a do it manually over a intranet, but its not what i need. I need to access ISPConfig panels from http://mysite.com/admin
Again, why not try a reverse proxy using mod_proxy and, if necessary, mod_proxy_html? Use the same certs for https and bind to port 443 and you should be fine. Your clients' firewalls are not blocking 443.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th July 2006, 19:52
fobicodam fobicodam is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Posts: 346
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via MSN to fobicodam
Default

Because ill loose the https ability for my sites. And they should enter the panel with "https://www.mydomain.com".

Thanks for your help, but im not asking for options, im asking for something particular. My clients used to get into the panel by http://www.domain.com/admin i want to keep this. My question is: "Is there any problem doing that?" anyway ill test it first.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th July 2006, 14:12
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

I'm not quite sure you understood what brent.stephens suggested. Have a closer look at his posts...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15th July 2006, 16:53
fobicodam fobicodam is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Posts: 346
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via MSN to fobicodam
Default

I believe he say to put ispconfig over https over my domain, so i can get it with something like:

https://www.mydomain.com

but thats not what i want.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16th July 2006, 12:54
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

You want http://www.mydomain.com instead of https://www.mydomain.com.
But you can also do it with mod_proxy...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16th July 2006, 15:46
fobicodam fobicodam is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Posts: 346
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via MSN to fobicodam
Default

I want to know if using:

http://www.mydomain.com/admin load ISPConfig, not a redirect, not a local alias, not diferent port.

ISPConfig, will still works? ill try it on a dev server today..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17th July 2006, 15:41
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

I'm not sure if it's so hard to understand what I'm saying... You can do it with mod_proxy.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig running on default web server (port 80) geek.de.nz Installation/Configuration 3 31st March 2008 10:32
ISPconfig on port 443 ? olaus Installation/Configuration 8 29th July 2007 12:37
SP-Server Setup - Ubuntu 5.10 "Breezy Badger" - Page 6 (changes) LuisC-SM HOWTO-Related Questions 0 21st April 2006 15:16
How to install BFD (Brute Force Detection) domino Tips/Tricks/Mods 9 31st March 2006 22:40
Change port for ISPConfig gfts Installation/Configuration 1 12th December 2005 15:48


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.