Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 17th July 2006, 14:57
himagain himagain is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question unable to detect USB Billion Router

Hi people!
VERY confused newby here: Have been trying with various Distros to get my Billion USB Router recognised without success.
Researching the problem *seems* to suggest it can't be done!
Obviously squillions of people are doing it, but how?
Tried:
Ubuntu
Suse
Xandros
Puppy
Nothing sees the Router.

TIA

Himagain
(Definitely only a User - not a Techo)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 18th July 2006, 13:33
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Is it a router or a modem? Routers normally use ethernet instead of USB whereassome modems use USB (which is rather silly...).
Do you have a URL for your device so that I can have a look?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th July 2006, 13:55
himagain himagain is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Red face woops! ADSL Router not USB ......

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Is it a router or a modem? Routers normally use ethernet instead of USB whereassome modems use USB (which is rather silly...).
Do you have a URL for your device so that I can have a look?
Hi falko,
Thanks for the response.
OOPS! Slip of the brain, sorry ........ ADSL Router Billion 7400.
a URL for the device?? Not sure what you mean here? Do you mean supplier Site? http://www.billion.com.au/[URL="http://www.billion.com.au/"/URL]

Cheers?

Himagain
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th July 2006, 14:15
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

I don't see a Billion 7400 on their web site. They have Billion 7300, Billion 7401, Billion 7402, but no Billion 7400...
But these other models seem to have a 4-port ethernet switch, so you should use ethernet instead of USB.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th July 2006, 14:59
himagain himagain is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
I don't see a Billion 7400 on their web site. They have Billion 7300, Billion 7401, Billion 7402, but no Billion 7400...
But these other models seem to have a 4-port ethernet switch, so you should use ethernet instead of USB.
Hi Falko,
7400 and 7402 are the same - just a market i.d. apparently.
Remember I DID say I was a tyro!! :-)
For some reason I said USB instead of ADSL

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th July 2006, 14:02
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Ok, then simply use an ethernet cable to connect your Linux machine to the router. There are no drivers necessary.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th July 2006, 15:03
himagain himagain is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Ok, then simply use an ethernet cable to connect your Linux machine to the router. There are no drivers necessary.
Hi Falko,
Errrk!! Then it really SHOULD work. I got back from a hard afternoon's run on my beach to work off my frustrations - ( I read your website "likes" :-) !) such a nice day I just jumped into the surf in my shorts ( wasn't wearing a swimming costume) ......... BTW it is mid-winter here in Oz
Read your post, reloaded Suse and tried to answer all the questions in it re networking/internetting and.......... zilch.
It just isn't found - and manually configuring it to the best I could work out with the very scant help file = no result.

It MUST be something in the Router setup, then.

Thanks,
Himagain
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21st July 2006, 14:33
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
 
Default

Your router must have a default IP address when you bought it. Try to find out that IP address from the manuals or contact the Billion support. You might have to change your Linux computer's network settings to be able to connect to your router's web interface.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Howto suggestion suse PhP ver 4 + Ver 5 wwparrish Suggest HOWTO 11 7th August 2006 14:29
Unable to connect (iptables problem?) Samatttv Installation/Configuration 3 27th April 2006 23:03
Unable to send/recieve E-mail phantomk Server Operation 2 20th January 2006 07:47
router or no router??? pjm2211 Installation/Configuration 3 2nd December 2005 11:16
Question on Static IP / Router ezfilez HOWTO-Related Questions 7 26th November 2005 17:53


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.