#1  
Old 18th July 2006, 15:15
Tortanick Tortanick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Help installing debian

I'm trying to install debian, I will have two HDs in RAID, however I only have two IDE controllers, and one small one for a floppy disk.

Since I want a 2.6 kernal I can't just use a Netinstall floppy, so how do I get round this?

I was thinking I could move the Hard drives into master slave for the install and move them back afterwords, would that work?

P.S. its an Old BIOS that dosn't allow booting from USB as far as I can tell

Last edited by Tortanick; 18th July 2006 at 15:24.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 18th July 2006, 16:07
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,138
Thanks: 4
Thanked 54 Times in 50 Posts
Default

Can't you install 2.6 from the floppies the same as from a network install cd?
On the CD you just specify linux26 [Enter] upon booting...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th July 2006, 16:11
Tortanick Tortanick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

tried that, it didn't work
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th July 2006, 16:47
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,138
Thanks: 4
Thanked 54 Times in 50 Posts
Default

That I didn't know
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th July 2006, 17:35
Tortanick Tortanick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I read about installing from a hard drive in the manual, but I can't figure out how to do this without unless I want to leave an untouched installer partition, any advice?

Last edited by Tortanick; 18th July 2006 at 18:18.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th July 2006, 18:23
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,138
Thanks: 4
Thanked 54 Times in 50 Posts
Default

Maybe go into irc.freenode.net in the channel #debian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18th July 2006, 18:25
Tortanick Tortanick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I asked, no luck so far
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18th July 2006, 18:27
Tortanick Tortanick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Found it:

http://ftp.debian.org/debian/dists/s.../hd-media/2.6/

just encase anyone comes here with the same question
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Debian desktop GNOME! AdykOSu Installation/Configuration 13 9th January 2011 23:43
HOWTO's for perfect installing Debian on VMWare Workstation 5 machines dragos Suggest HOWTO 5 1st February 2007 18:54
Installing On A Semi Configured Debian Box!? k31th Installation/Configuration 2 29th June 2006 12:43
e-mail problem!!! Debian 3.1 maroonworks Installation/Configuration 18 6th December 2005 14:42
Problems installing ISPConfig Debian Sarge hschel Server Operation 4 22nd August 2005 19:46


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.