Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > MyDNSConfig > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 16th July 2006, 20:05
standk standk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default You dont have the permission to view this record or this record does not exist.

I receive this message whenever I try viewing a database or after creating one: "You dont have the permission to view this record or this record does not exist."

I have tried changing the charset to latin1, and the sys_user table looks fine, also. What could be causing this? It worked initially, I was able to log-in with the new password, edit and create, and now I cannot, just a few hours later with no change to the system.

K
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 17th July 2006, 11:44
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,704
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,321 Times in 4,174 Posts
Default

What did you mean with "viewing a database or after creating one"?

Do you mean you get this error when you add a new DNS record?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th August 2006, 21:51
pksings pksings is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default I have this exact same problem so please accept my explanation

After login I cannot actually do anything other than view the zone names. Anything else errors. Clicking the zone name gives me a "you don't have permission" error. Clicking a user name gives me a "this object doesn't exist" error.

I was able to solve this once by "dropping" the entire database and re-creating it and reentering all my DNS info, which is quite small. But having to do this every time I want to add or change a record is a bit much.

It did work fine right after re-creating the database, no problems whatsoever.

An additional problem is that upon adding or changing a user name the prompts at the bottom are in German even though I specified English. It took me a few attempts to determine which button to use after making the changes.

Thanks much

PK
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd June 2008, 17:27
angelika angelika is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I had the same problem, the admin ( user default ) work ok but when i tried to create sub account ( allowed to user module dns ) after this sub account login and try to create a new SOA record, its does not success ( not show that domain on SOA record list on his user cp ) but when trying to re-logging in with user default ( admin ) I can see that records but when click on, mydnsconfig said You dont have the permission to view this record or this record does not exist.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th December 2008, 02:12
markhawke7 markhawke7 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I have now fresh installed using this HOWTO 3 times:
http://www.howtoforge.com/installing...config-fedora8

And I'm having the exact problem. I've tried some of the other supposed fixes for this from the forum and none of them help. I still can't use the new user I created and I still get German buttons. Hopefully Falko will post with a reply with some explanation.

-Mark
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th December 2008, 03:35
markhawke7 markhawke7 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I did a little looking and poking around with phpMyAdmin.
It looks like the first problem is that the mydnsconfig.sql creates 2 groups for Admin and Use with id's of 1 and 2 respectively. However, it then creates the admin user with a group ID of "0" which isn't a group at all. It also creates the sys_user table, setting the sys_groupid field to default to "0" as well. This is from this HOWTO:
http://www.howtoforge.com/installing...config-fedora8

I found that the permissions error went away when I changed sys_groupid to a 1 instead of a 0 for the new user that I created. It was then able to do whatever it wanted. Also, I now get english buttons except for the ones in the "System" area. They are still German.

However, if you look at this HOWTO:
http://www.howtoforge.com/mydns_name_server_p2
It creates the admin use with a default group of "1". Interestingly, this HOWTO creates sys_user table with sys_groupid defaulting to 0. It also doesn't show creating the sys_group, sys_datalog, sys_dbsync, sys_filesync tables at all. So it's unclear based on that how to reference the assigned group ID to an actual group.

So the question then is, should the group ID's really be admin=0 and user=1, or should sys_groupid default to 1 and the .sql script create the admin user with a groupid of 1?

Inquiring minds want to know. I think I'm going to try changing the sys_group table creation to be 0 and 1. It's wonderful to have a snapshot to fall back on for this testing.

-Mark
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th December 2008, 04:23
markhawke7 markhawke7 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Ok, this is the sql install script that seems to work. I'm only pasting in the parts that changed. Your mileage may vary.

-Mark


CREATE TABLE `sys_user` (
`userid` int(11) NOT NULL auto_increment,
`sys_userid` int(11) NOT NULL default '1',
`sys_groupid` int(11) NOT NULL default '1',
`sys_perm_user` varchar(5) NOT NULL default '',
`sys_perm_group` varchar(5) NOT NULL default '',
`sys_perm_other` varchar(5) NOT NULL default '',
`username` varchar(100) NOT NULL default '',
`passwort` varchar(100) NOT NULL default '',
`modules` varchar(255) NOT NULL default '',
`startmodule` varchar(255) NOT NULL default '',
`app_theme` varchar(100) NOT NULL default 'default',
`typ` varchar(20) NOT NULL default 'user',
`active` tinyint(4) NOT NULL default '1',
`name` varchar(100) NOT NULL default '',
`vorname` varchar(100) NOT NULL default '',
`unternehmen` varchar(100) NOT NULL default '',
`strasse` varchar(100) NOT NULL default '',
`ort` varchar(100) NOT NULL default '',
`plz` varchar(10) NOT NULL default '',
`land` varchar(50) NOT NULL default '',
`email` varchar(100) NOT NULL default '',
`url` varchar(255) NOT NULL default '',
`telefon` varchar(100) NOT NULL default '',
`fax` varchar(100) NOT NULL default '',
`language` varchar(10) NOT NULL default 'en',
`groups` varchar(255) NOT NULL default '',
`default_group` int(11) NOT NULL default '1',
PRIMARY KEY (`userid`)
) ENGINE=MyISAM DEFAULT CHARSET=latin1 AUTO_INCREMENT=2 ;

--
-- Daten für Tabelle `sys_user`
--
INSERT INTO `sys_user` (`userid`, `sys_userid`, `sys_groupid`, `sys_perm_user`, `sys_perm_group`, `sys_perm_other`, `username`, `passwort`, `modules`, `startmodule`, `app_theme`, `typ`, `active`, `name`, `vorname`, `unternehmen`, `strasse`, `ort`, `plz`, `land`, `email`, `url`, `telefon`, `fax`, `language`, `groups`, `default_group`) VALUES
(1, 1, 1, 'riud', 'riud', '', 'admin', '21232f297a57a5a743894a0e4a801fc3', 'admin,dns', 'dns', 'grey', 'admin', 1, '', 'Administrator', '', '', '', '', '', '', '', '', '', 'en', '1,2', 1);
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11th December 2008, 17:18
markhawke7 markhawke7 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

For the German buttons in the "System" area, it looks like you just have to edit the html by hand in the admin/templates area.

Later!

-Mark
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error: Unknown column 'active' in 'field list' TWC General 24 25th June 2006 13:21
Unbearably slow access speeds CombatGod Installation/Configuration 5 30th May 2006 16:31
phpmyadmin configuration problem pushembekar Installation/Configuration 8 9th March 2006 21:48
websites outside ISPConfig guidovanh Installation/Configuration 13 7th March 2006 22:56
/stats doesn't work (password not accepted) Hellbound General 6 15th September 2005 15:34


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.