Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41  
Old 6th January 2012, 11:40
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

I guess digitalpacific.com.au isn't your domain, right? Only the owner of the domains can create DNS records for the domain, so it makes no sense to create a record if you don't own the domain. Therefore it makes more sense to rename your server (to something like server1.urbancampsite.com).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #42  
Old 6th January 2012, 14:46
cbj4074 cbj4074 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 387
Thanks: 28
Thanked 58 Times in 50 Posts
Default

I will add that unless you have some good reason for running your own name-servers on the ISPConfig box, I would just let the Web host handle it.

There are several disadvantages to the roll-your-own approach:

a.) It's complicated and it's easy to make a mistake.

b.) There are no "validation tools" within the interface that are specific to your setup (ISPConfig couldn't possibly account for that, whereas your host could, given that it's their network and hardware).

c.) If your server goes down or is compromised, you're in worse shape than you would otherwise be (the potential exists to "lock yourself out" of your box completely if the DNS server goes belly-up).

You know?
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 9th January 2012, 01:38
m.xander m.xander is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 81
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Changed the server name...

Hello... after reading the post from Falko as well I've changed the server name.

In ISPConfig have changed the name of the server to server1.urbancampsite.com

In /etc/postfix/main.cf have changed myhostname to server1.urbancampsite.com
then ;
Code:
service postfix restart
Still no success sending from anyuser@urbancampsite.com

The was no spacial reason to have my own name servers, I just figured while I was going to have a crack at this I'd get my own nameservers and learn a bit about that as well... I figured that it would better for clients to have ns1.urbancampsite.com rather than ns1.somebodyelse.com that's all...

Webmin is now installed Falko so if you've got further thoughts...
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 9th January 2012, 13:13
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

Code:
mh1:~# dig server1.urbancampsite.com

; <<>> DiG 9.3.4 <<>> server1.urbancampsite.com
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 62116
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;server1.urbancampsite.com.     IN      A

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
urbancampsite.com.      86400   IN      SOA     ns1.urbancampsite.com. m.xander.urbancampsite.com. 2012010901 28800 7200 604800 86400

;; Query time: 456 msec
;; SERVER: 213.133.98.98#53(213.133.98.98)
;; WHEN: Mon Jan  9 13:10:00 2012
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 92

mh1:~#
You didn't create an A record for server1.urbancampsite.com.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 11th January 2012, 05:01
m.xander m.xander is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 81
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default digitalpacific A record...

hello,

hopefully this may help with the trouble shooting..
Removing the digital pacific A record basically stopped browser access to the website. so I've put it back in..



... so because its on one of their VPS's the full path "25612-21212.vps.digitalpacific.com.au" in the A record is necessary. once I put it back in the website was back...

... so that leads me to think about the mail server that the full path "25612-21212.vps.digitalpacific.com.au" might be applicable to the mail configation..???
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 11th January 2012, 18:21
cbj4074 cbj4074 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 387
Thanks: 28
Thanked 58 Times in 50 Posts
Default

What hostnames are listed in /etc/hostname and /etc/mailname?
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 12th January 2012, 07:49
m.xander m.xander is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 81
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re-install

OK... so I've spat the dummy and decided to re-install the whole server from scratch...

Parallels control panel allows to re-install the Ubuntu server back to the original state before I started.
So starting from the perfect server Ubuntu 10.04 starting at step 6-install vim-nox (which I didn't do, but instead first added the repositories as in step 8 in order to then install vim-gnome {just to get the fully blown vim} )

Step 7. vi /etc/network/interfaces - and I recall not being 100% sure of this on the first attempt. and also its a little different on my server.

vi /etc/network/interfaces
Code:
# This configuration file is auto-generated.
# WARNING: Do not edit this file, otherwise your changes will be lost.
# Please edit template /etc/network/interfaces.template instead.


auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
        address 127.0.0.1
        netmask 255.0.0.0
        broadcast 127.255.255.255
        up ip route replace 127.0.0.0/8 dev lo


# Auto generated venet0 interfaces
auto venet0
iface venet0 inet static
        address 127.0.0.1
        netmask 255.255.255.255
        broadcast 0.0.0.0
        up route add -net 191.255.255.1 netmask 255.255.255.255 dev venet0
        up route add default gw 191.255.255.1

auto venet0:0
iface venet0:0 inet static
        address 202.130.46.114
        netmask 255.255.255.255
so then...
vi /etc/network/interfaces.template
Code:
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
        address 127.0.0.1
        netmask 255.0.0.0
        broadcast 127.255.255.255
        up ip route replace 127.0.0.0/8 dev lo
Unfortunately at this stage I've re-installed the OS and only recall that I wasn't 100% sure about this except that address is 202.130.46.114
I've done a liffle googling about this and would like to know how to verify what my server's network details are for these...
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 12th January 2012, 15:22
cbj4074 cbj4074 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 387
Thanks: 28
Thanked 58 Times in 50 Posts
Default

Your hosting provider custom-tailors its images (as do most) such that they function properly "out-of-the-box".

You shouldn't have to make any changes to your VPS's networking configuration, manually. Most hosting providers offer a control panel of sorts to manage those aspects of the server.

If you intend to use the hosting company's nameservers and DNS management interface this time around, don't change anything networking-related.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 12th January 2012, 20:35
m.xander m.xander is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 81
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default auto gernerated hostname...

That makes sense...

Now is /etc/hosts

Code:
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
# Auto-generated hostname. Please do not remove this comment.
202.130.46.114 25612-21212.vps.digitalpacific.com.au 25612-21212
So does this relate to the problems I was having earlier?
note: on the previous install I used "25612-21212.vps.digitalpacific.com.au" for this.
Am I supposed to change "25612-21212.vps.digitalpacific.com.au" to "server1.mydomain.com"
and
"25612-21212" to "server1" for hostname or just leave that..?

and then just add
Code:
# The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
::1     localhost ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
fe00::0 ip6-localnet
ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
ff02::2 ip6-allrouters

Last edited by m.xander; 12th January 2012 at 20:38.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 12th January 2012, 21:55
cbj4074 cbj4074 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 387
Thanks: 28
Thanked 58 Times in 50 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Am I supposed to change "25612-21212.vps.digitalpacific.com.au" to "server1.mydomain.com"
and
"25612-21212" to "server1" for hostname or just leave that..?
As stated above, don't fiddle with your network configuration. Nothing you need to do as related to ISPConfig requires you to change the default networking setup.

Don't add the IPv6 bit, either. Unless your hosting provider has assigned an IPv6 address to you, and your DNS server (I should say, your hosting provider's DNS server) is IPv6-capable, doing so only invites trouble.

The hostname that your provider has assigned to your VPS should not be changed. This ensures that your server is always reachable at that hostname, even if your "primary domain" (e.g., urbancampsite.com) is unresponsive. Maybe you let your domain name registration expire, maybe someone hacks your registration... there are a number of reasons for which you should not change anything related to that pre-assigned hostname.

The are only a couple of exceptions:

1.) your Postfix configuration files, in that the myhostname directive may be set to any domain that resolves to your IP address (e.g., urbancampsite.com), but,

2.) if you make that change, you should ensure that your rDNS (reverse DNS) lookup matches -- that is, an rDNS against your IP address resolves to urbancampsite.com; this is usually done by setting the "primary domain" within the hosting provider's interface (e.g., to urbancampsite.com), and ensuring that the PTR (reverse DNS) record is accurate.

Last edited by cbj4074; 12th January 2012 at 22:05.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Version 1.3 of the ISPConfig 3 Manual is finally available! falko General 44 2nd December 2011 12:04
SquirrelMail login not working glenneh Installation/Configuration 13 9th April 2011 20:01
dovecot: lda: Fatal: Unknown user dpicella Installation/Configuration 1 22nd August 2010 02:59
ERROR: Connection dropped by IMAP server. [Centos 5.4, courier imap,squirrel, etc] darevil HOWTO-Related Questions 7 9th June 2010 14:49
just the last step...and it works. Postfix...need help config. ubuntusr Installation/Configuration 1 5th January 2009 09:50


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.