Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 17th July 2006, 10:08
Dmitry Dmitry is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy Big trouble: separate domain appears as ServerAlias for another domain

Seems like my ISPConfig database is corrupt Here is my trouble.

I have several domains. Let's say, domain1.com, domain2.com and domain3.com. They all are configured identical: have several users, one database and server alias without www.

Yesterday I found that domain1's alias includes "domain2.com". I.e. it looks like this on "Co-domains" tab:

111.222.333.444 domain1.com
111.222.333.444 domain2.com

Remeber, domain2 is separate domain and site!

I clicked on the IP address (it is a link), though I can delete it. I got a user (!) record for domain2. Not domain record but user record!

After several passes I managed to remove domain2.com from co-domains list of domain1.com. I had to delete domain2 completely and recreate it. It did not appear in the co-domains for domain1.

Today I added users to domain2. Then I looked to Apache files, just to check how they were regenerated and... found domain2.com as ServerAlias for domain1.com. I went to check co-domains for domain1.com in ISPConfig and found domain2.com there again. Now if I click on it, it gives me database (!) record for domain3 (it gave user record for domain2 before)!

Looks like my ISPConfig database is broken. I have to manually remove domain2.com from ServerAlias each timewhen I do anything in ISPConfig.

ISPConfig version is 3.2.3, running on SuSE 10.0 64-bit. Mysql 4.1.

Does anyone have idea how can I repair ISPConfig in my case?

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by Dmitry; 17th July 2006 at 10:12.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 17th July 2006, 12:48
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,488
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,259 Times in 4,123 Posts
Default

Your database seems to be really messed up. Did you delet any records manually in the datbase any time before the corruption happened?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th July 2006, 13:20
Dmitry Dmitry is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No, I did not

The worst thing is that I even cannot imagine how it could went so wrong. There were no crashes, interruptions, errors or anything abnormal.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th July 2006, 16:50
Dmitry Dmitry is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If anyone can help, I would be happy I like IspConfig and really do not want to change it to anything else because of this error... But if it is unrecoverable, I have to find another hosting management panel.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th July 2006, 17:01
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,488
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,259 Times in 4,123 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmitry
If anyone can help, I would be happy I like IspConfig and really do not want to change it to anything else because of this error... But if it is unrecoverable, I have to find another hosting management panel.
Dmitry,

I'am not sure if changing the controlpanel will help you to avoid database corruption in general. From the last ISPConfig release we had more then 18.000 downloads and this is the first time that this kind of corruption has been reported so it is very uncommon.

How many websites do you have in your ISPConfig installation now?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th July 2006, 17:15
Dmitry Dmitry is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have 12 sites.

Usually I am able to handle these kind of errors inside database/software (I am working with php/mysql since 1996). But IspConfig uses complex tree logic, I will not be able to "crack" it quickly. Since I do not understand logic I can not touch database. This is why I asked for help. If I could manage it myself, I would not bother others But I really need help.

I do not blame IspConfig code at all, I just need to fix the problem. As to changing hosting panel - this is my last option, only possible if I cannot fix this problem in a reasonable time.

IspConfig is really good but currently it generates ServerAlias in a such way that shows one site instead of another. I already changed this manually five times today in apache files...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th July 2006, 17:24
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,488
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,259 Times in 4,123 Posts
Default

Please have a look at the developer forum, there are several posts that explain the table logic. The tables are generally connected this way:

permissions are stored in isp_nodes for the websites, co-domains and users.

example:

isp_isp_web is connected to isp_nodes with the doc_id and doctype_id
isp_isp_domain is connected to isp_nodes with the doc_id and doctype_id
isp_isp_user is connected to isp_nodes with the doc_id and doctype_id

Next are the relations between websites and co-domains (isp_isp_domain) and users (isp_isp_user), these relations are stored in the isp_dep table.

Example website => co-domain relation:

isp_isp_web.doc_id = isp_dep.parent_doc_id
isp_isp_web.doctype_id = isp_dep.parent_doctype_id
isp_isp_domain.doc_id = isp_dep.child_doc_id
isp_isp_domain.doctype_id = isp_dep.child_doctype_id

the same with users:

isp_isp_web.doc_id = isp_dep.parent_doc_id
isp_isp_web.doctype_id = isp_dep.parent_doctype_id
isp_isp_user.doc_id = isp_dep.child_doc_id
isp_isp_user.doctype_id = isp_dep.child_doctype_id

I hope this helps a bit.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17th July 2006, 17:28
Dmitry Dmitry is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Thanks a lot! I will try to trace records for that domain
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.