Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 4th July 2006, 15:14
zimele zimele is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default SMTP, POP and ISPCONFIG Query

Hi All

I need to know about setting up my SMTP server cause i do have my Public IP Addresses

1. i finally got my Uncapped ADSL and my Public IP addresses now my Question is with Setting up POP and SMTP correctly is there a way to do that in ISPConfig and if there is how do you go by doin it

2. To change my ISPconfig Server to have a Public IP how do i go by doing that... which places do i need to change!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 5th July 2006, 11:12
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zimele
Hi All

I need to know about setting up my SMTP server cause i do have my Public IP Addresses

1. i finally got my Uncapped ADSL and my Public IP addresses now my Question is with Setting up POP and SMTP correctly is there a way to do that in ISPConfig and if there is how do you go by doin it
Did you check out the "Perfect Setups" on HowtoForge? They show how to configure Postfix.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zimele
2. To change my ISPconfig Server to have a Public IP how do i go by doing that... which places do i need to change!
Have a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2760
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th July 2006, 09:02
zimele zimele is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Help Please

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Did you check out the "Perfect Setups" on HowtoForge? They show how to configure Postfix.
I tried this route and it did work but only to a certain point cause in my ISPconfig i was not able to go to different options like tools and all those other options

so i unistalled ISPConfig and reinstalled it giving the new IP address and it worked fine and on that place where it asked me for a web address it did not really work i still need to use an IP address to go to any reason why that is

Please enter the host name (e.g. www):
Please enter the domain (e.g. xyz.de): 192.169.0.100

Please select the protocol (http or https (SSL encryption)) to use to access the ISPConfig system:
1) HTTPS
2) HTTP
Your Choice: 1


Any reason why this is so
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th July 2006, 13:45
fobicodam fobicodam is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Posts: 346
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via MSN to fobicodam
Default

Im not sure it would work with an ip address.. why dont you try with some domain? my experience says you should try

hostname: something NOT www.
domain: your domain or some internal domain

the domain name really doesnt matter because if not dns record points to your ispconfig it useless.. you can always access via your ip but it will hang without a valid domain name.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th July 2006, 18:40
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,183
Thanks: 829
Thanked 5,414 Times in 4,257 Posts
Default

The domain you enter in the ISPConfig installer must point to your server, otherwise the installer stops if you enter a valid domain that can be pinged successfully.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 7th July 2006, 12:34
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

If the domain doesn't exist in DNS yet, you can add it to /etc/hosts for now.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th July 2006, 18:28
zimele zimele is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Please help

Hi all


thanks for your speedy responses, tell me is there a way to change the domain name set i know that there is a way that i can change it but the last time i did that i had to Uninstall and then reinstall my ISPconfig and only then it worked but that was still under testing and now i want to put the real domain name and another thing which still puzzles me i want to Use POP and SMTP but i want these to go under different names like
the only way the whole domain name thing works is if i use the 1st domain that i have within ISPconfig.... any reason why this is so?


i also want to change the information set on the SSL Certificate

webServer= web.domainname.com

POP= mail.domainname.com
SMTP= SMTP.domainname.com


so how would i go by doing that and furthermore changing all those settings
can you also list the files that i have to change cause the last time i tried i guess i did not maybe change all the files cause i know that on ISPconfig it like after logging on if i had to go to ISPmanagement it was still pointing to my old IP address

One last thing how would i go by instead of going to http://....domainname.com:81/webmail just go to http://domainname.com/webmail or something along those lines

Last edited by zimele; 11th July 2006 at 18:40.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th July 2006, 14:00
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zimele
Hi all


thanks for your speedy responses, tell me is there a way to change the domain name set i know that there is a way that i can change it but the last time i did that i had to Uninstall and then reinstall my ISPconfig and only then it worked but that was still under testing and now i want to put the real domain name and another thing which still puzzles me i want to Use POP and SMTP but i want these to go under different names like
the only way the whole domain name thing works is if i use the 1st domain that i have within ISPconfig.... any reason why this is so?
I'm not quite sure I understand what you want?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zimele
i also want to change the information set on the SSL Certificate

webServer= web.domainname.com

POP= mail.domainname.com
SMTP= SMTP.domainname.com
Which SSL certificate?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zimele
One last thing how would i go by instead of going to http://....domainname.com:81/webmail just go to http://domainname.com/webmail or something along those lines
Have a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sea...earchid=142185
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13th July 2006, 17:46
zimele zimele is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sorry for the miscommunication but this is what i meant


thanks for your speedy responses, tell me is there a way to change the domain name set i know that there is a way that i can change it but the last time i did that i had to Uninstall and then reinstall my ISPconfig and only then it worked but that was still under testing and now i want to put the real domain name and another thing which still puzzles me i want to Use POP and SMTP but i want these to go under different names like

webServer= web.domainname.com

POP= mail.domainname.com

SMTP.domainname.com


i also want to change the information set on the SSL Certificate

the SSL Certificate that goes with these settings

Please select the protocol (http or https (SSL encryption)) to use to access the ISPConfig system:
1) HTTPS
2) HTTP
Your Choice: 1



so how would i go by doing that and furthermore changing all those settings
can you also list the files that i have to change cause the last time i tried i guess i did not maybe change all the files cause i know that on ISPconfig it like after logging on if i had to go to ISPmanagement it was still pointing to my old IP address

One last thing how would i go by instead of going to http://....domainname.com:81/webmail just go to http://domainname.com/webmail or something along those lines

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
when i try going to this link this is what i get

Sorry - no matches. Please try some different terms.

Last edited by zimele; 13th July 2006 at 17:49.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14th July 2006, 12:28
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zimele
webServer= web.domainname.com

POP= mail.domainname.com

SMTP.domainname.com
Just create DNS records for these FQDNs and point them to your server.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zimele
i also want to change the information set on the SSL Certificate

the SSL Certificate that goes with these settings

Please select the protocol (http or https (SSL encryption)) to use to access the ISPConfig system:
1) HTTPS
2) HTTP
Your Choice: 1
Recreate the certificate like this: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...58&postcount=4

Quote:
Originally Posted by zimele
when i try going to this link this is what i get

Sorry - no matches. Please try some different terms.
Search for "webmail redirect" with the forum's search function.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.