Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 9th December 2011, 23:25
pawan pawan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 222
Thanks: 44
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default how to work with domain still in transfer process

I have created a domain, website, DNS in ISPCONFIG.
(The domain in question is in the process of transfer and I donot have access the Registrar DNS records for change of name server or A records at the moment)

I have also tried editing the host file first with WAN IP address then with local LAN address. The default page for the website does open correctly in the browser.

What I wanted it to build the website for the domain till the domain is transferred to my account.

But when I try to ftp files to this domain I am getting a 553ermission denied error.

Any Solution will be really helpful.

Thanks.

Last edited by pawan; 9th December 2011 at 23:53.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10th December 2011, 11:42
Ghostdare Ghostdare is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Europe - Romania - Bucharest
Posts: 151
Thanks: 11
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Default

Have you crated a ftp user for that site?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th December 2011, 13:52
pawan pawan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 222
Thanks: 44
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Yes I did.
I am able to connect to the domain with that ftp user. The default folder & file for the vhost created is also showing.

only when I am trying to upload files to the site, I am getting the error.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th December 2011, 14:55
Ghostdare Ghostdare is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Europe - Romania - Bucharest
Posts: 151
Thanks: 11
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Default

Your error 553 maybe is regarding http://kb.globalscape.com/Knowledgeb...icle10303.aspx ??!??
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th December 2011, 14:59
pawan pawan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 222
Thanks: 44
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

I found the reason for the error.
The web folder is being created with ownership root instead of clientxx and webxx.

The question now is how how to correct the same and how this error crept in?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th December 2011, 15:02
Ghostdare Ghostdare is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Europe - Romania - Bucharest
Posts: 151
Thanks: 11
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Default

I dont understand you, what do you mean by "how to correct the same?". Did you mean how to change the ownership of that folder?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10th December 2011, 18:09
pawan pawan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 222
Thanks: 44
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Yes, I mean change the ownership of the same.

I understand that I can change the ownership of the same manually, but what file should I edit so that correct ownership is created when creating new domain & websites instead of the 'root'
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11th December 2011, 10:54
Ghostdare Ghostdare is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Europe - Romania - Bucharest
Posts: 151
Thanks: 11
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Default

You can change the ownership with "chown -R clientx:webx /pathtoclientdirectory". Regarding the file, I know very little about php programing - ISPConfig developers are more qualified to answer.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18th December 2011, 09:26
zbuzanic zbuzanic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Zagreb
Posts: 79
Thanks: 43
Thanked 21 Times in 13 Posts
 
Default

@pawan: I'd suggest you to recreate domain from scratch.

But, I'm wondering if there is some symlink or better to say how to create a symlink for a domain that is not active/propagated on Internet.

So for example I've created test.com page that doesn't resolve yet but I want to preview page. My ispconfig domain is ispdomain.com (example) and I want to access previews:

http://www.ispconfig.com/domains/test.com

Best way to do it for all domains?
__________________
ISPConfig -> the best open source control panel
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Postfix not forwarding for some domains flappy Installation/Configuration 3 21st November 2010 18:57
freebsd 7, samba 3, domain controller alexdimarco Suggest HOWTO 6 5th November 2010 17:54
Problems with my 'Perfect Server' chillifire Server Operation 3 6th January 2010 13:26
Help configure Postfix to use alt port 465 or 587 BoloMarkIII Installation/Configuration 10 16th March 2009 18:57
High Availability Samba cluster - DRBD + Heartbeat djalex Server Operation 58 25th May 2007 20:38


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.