Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2nd December 2011, 01:05
wyattbiker wyattbiker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Default Long delay adding or modifying SSH users

Why does it take long (sometimes minutes) after I add/modify an SSH user? They don;t show the changes in the passwd file for a while. Is it done on a cron background job?

If i use adduser it is instantaneous.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 2nd December 2011, 17:37
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

Are you referring to ISPConfig or some other software?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd December 2011, 19:34
wyattbiker wyattbiker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I am referring to ISPConfig3. It takes a long time to update the passwd file. Sometimes a few minutes, yet I am able to navigate with ISPConfig and see my changes.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd December 2011, 15:17
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

The backend cron job that does the configuration runs once per minute.

I've moved this thread to the ISPConfig 3 forum.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd December 2011, 17:32
wyattbiker wyattbiker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
The backend cron job that does the configuration runs once per minute.

I've moved this thread to the ISPConfig 3 forum.
Can I change it to run once a second?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th December 2011, 22:37
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
 
Default

No, the smallest time unit in cron is one minute.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSH key for shell users bswinnerton Installation/Configuration 1 11th August 2011 11:03
Allowing the use of java by ssh users (jailkit) crohakon General 0 11th June 2011 21:43
Not working emails (DNS and postfix problem?) shekiman Installation/Configuration 9 1st March 2011 16:25
SSH Users CHROOT howser Installation/Configuration 20 2nd August 2006 08:22
ssh chroot works, but no scp for chroot users zokahn HOWTO-Related Questions 5 30th January 2006 09:33


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.