Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30th November 2011, 17:15
SwOsHiE SwOsHiE is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 82
Thanks: 8
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to SwOsHiE
Default ISPconfig3 cluster using load-balancing example

Hello!

I have some plans on making a new ISPconfig3 cluster with load balancing, hear me out and give me some feedback of what could be done better or if it will work at all

The setup:

lb.example.net - Dedicated fsSense server with firewall and load balancing
server1.example.net - All services like apache, bind, dovecot etc..
server2.example.net - Mirror of server1
cpanel.example.net - ISPconfig3 webinterface + phpmyadmin + webmail

lb.example.net is going to run the pfSense OS and handle all the firewall and load balancing stuff, this shares the traffic between servers and also acts as failover.

server1.example.net is going to run all the services that you can control from ISPconfig3 and shares the config files and /var/vmail, /var/www with server2, this using either Unison/rsync or something else like GlusterFS. MySQL is replicated with Master-Master replication or GlusterFS. I have not decided how to do the sync because of no experience with GlusterFS yet (any thoughts?)

server2.example.net - see above

cpanel.example.net is a dedicated server for the ISPconfig3 control panel and also the webinterface for phpmyadmin and roundcube (SSL). This server controls that both servers gets the same config files (mirroring). By separating the controlpanel from the other services I can secure this server alot more.

My questions is now this:

Is this a good way of doing things or should I take some other path in the search for a good cluster/load balancing system?

If a server goes down (server 1 or 2), is it possible to restore the default state of the server if it is replaced or is this not possible with ISPconfig3?

If I want to add a server to the system, is this possible or do you have trash everything and start over?

Best regards,
Mattias

Last edited by SwOsHiE; 30th November 2011 at 19:59. Reason: Ooops, just noticed that I posted in the wrong section, plz move this to the ISPC3 section :)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st December 2011, 20:53
SwOsHiE SwOsHiE is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 82
Thanks: 8
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to SwOsHiE
Default

No thoughts or ideas? Would be fun to get any feedback possible before building all of this
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd December 2011, 07:58
Ghostdare Ghostdare is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Europe - Romania - Bucharest
Posts: 146
Thanks: 10
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Default

I guess that nobody tried this yet. We are happy to hear from you after building this. I'm also playing with pfSense but for the moment my interest is the BGP function. Maybe afterwards I will test what are you trying to do.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd December 2011, 12:30
SwOsHiE SwOsHiE is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 82
Thanks: 8
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to SwOsHiE
 
Default

Well, maybe it is that way

I am currently on my way to the server facility and hopefully I am done with the installation at the end of the weekend!

Will get back to you all with the results!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ubuntu and nginx delgado2061 Installation/Configuration 0 27th November 2011 23:36
amavis rejects all inbound emails aclhkaclhk Installation/Configuration 5 28th February 2010 04:24
MySQL Cluster with Redundant Load balancing teec_michda Installation/Configuration 7 22nd October 2009 17:37
Question about the hardware requirement for mysql cluster with load balancing??? johN5Five^ HOWTO-Related Questions 3 12th April 2007 17:06
Howto suggestion suse PhP ver 4 + Ver 5 wwparrish Suggest HOWTO 11 7th August 2006 13:29


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.