Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th July 2006, 10:19
pesja pesja is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lightbulb ISPConfig out-of-the-box VMWare Image

Hello,

On my survey to look for an out-of-the box installation of an open source host cp i stopped at the site of ISP. I tried serveral installations (debian and Centos) and then I found this:

A complete out-of-the-box image of ISPConfig VMWare Image installed on top of Debian 3.1 With nice essentials like an chrootkit and a patched version of appache.
Easy to use, but need a little configuration like servername, ipadresses etc. Thank's to an guy (of girl) with the name tadorna.

look at: http://www.vmware.com/vmtn/appliances/directory/342 and see for yourself.

Maybe it's an idea to make this image better as it already is !!!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 13th July 2006, 12:07
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,082
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,396 Times in 4,240 Posts
Default

The image is based on the perfect setup howtos plus SuPHP and ChrootSSH which are part of the next ISPConfig release.

The configuration like servername etc. is always needed, as every server has a unique servername. But this vmware image provides a script that does all the setup of IP, servername, etc. for you and sets these values also in ISPConfig.

And if you dont guessed it alread, tadorna is my username at vmware
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th July 2006, 15:14
pesja pesja is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
The configuration like servername etc. is always needed, as every server has a unique servername. But this vmware image provides a script that does all the setup of IP, servername, etc. for you and sets these values also in ISPConfig.
Am I sorry, the only command I found into the guide was network_setup. This command wil ask for:
-language (en/de)
-ipadress
-subnetmask
-gateway

But no server (hostname), domain and nameserver where ask.
Is there another command or are you still building this into network_setup?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th July 2006, 10:37
pesja pesja is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Also Webalizer isn't work for me. There is no /stats/ directory created
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th July 2006, 11:31
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,082
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,396 Times in 4,240 Posts
Default

The webalizer directory is created nightly when there was traffic on the website.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14th July 2006, 11:32
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pesja
But no server (hostname), domain and nameserver where ask.
Is there another command or are you still building this into network_setup?
You can change the hostname in /etc/hostname and also /etc/hosts.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22nd July 2006, 18:26
darkomen darkomen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The torrent at vmware has nobody seeded it.

Last edited by darkomen; 22nd July 2006 at 19:52.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23rd July 2006, 23:27
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkomen
The torrent at vmware has nobody seeded it.
I'm not sure I understand?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21st September 2006, 19:50
denmaus denmaus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Can I use the "network_setup" script on "Debian Perfect Setup Sarge" installed system

I have installed ISPConfig and now it runs perfect.
My question is:
Can I use the "network_setup" script on "Debian Perfect Setup Sarge" installed system to change my Network Settings?

I have to install the server in other Network with different IP Range as i have at the moment.

What must I follow then? Have somebody some expiriences?

I think i must edit:
/etc/hosts
/etc/resolv.conf
/etc/network/interfaces
change the IP of the ISP-Config in the MySQL Database?

Many thanks.

Last edited by denmaus; 21st September 2006 at 23:22.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22nd September 2006, 10:32
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,082
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,396 Times in 4,240 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
/etc/hosts
/etc/resolv.conf
/etc/network/interfaces
ok.

Quote:
change the IP of the ISP-Config in the MySQL Database?
Better change the IP addresses in the ISPConfig interface.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading failed, ispconfig broken and ispconfig won't upgrade again dfriis Installation/Configuration 7 14th June 2006 17:54
ISPConfig 2.3.1-dev released till General 0 8th May 2006 22:18
SP-Server Setup - Ubuntu 5.10 "Breezy Badger" - Page 6 (changes) LuisC-SM HOWTO-Related Questions 0 21st April 2006 15:16
KErnel not showing all my memory Jorem Kernel Questions 8 13th April 2006 12:59
42goISP vs. ISPConfig nveid General 1 16th January 2006 09:07


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.