Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd November 2011, 23:28
jtt89 jtt89 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default LAMP installation and configuration steps

I was able to conect Centos6 on Virtual Box to Windows (I am able to ping in both directions) with Host-only Adapter (for connection between the two) and NAT Adapter (to enable Linux on VB to connect to the Internet). I want to set up httpd, mysql and vsftpd servers and in the end easily connect to httpd from Windows based browser and ftp server with a Windows based client as well. I would also want to have access through SSH.

I have a general idea of the steps that are involved, but there is also a configuration that I am not sure about at thsi point. Lets say I follow these steps:

# yum install httpd
# yum install php php-pear php-mysql
# yum install mysql-server
# mysql_secure_installation
# yum install vsftpd
# yum install mod_ssl

Technically I have everything installed, but what would be the next steps that I need to take (from the networking point of view, so to speak, to get it all working)?

I know I need to configure, at least Apache, and ftp server, but I am not sure how is it gonna work; like where am I gonna be uloading the sites (I know this can vary), how am I gonna know what address to use in a browser if I wanna go to a website x, y, z on that installation etc. This sounds like I need to do some kind of DNS setup and I am kind of stuck at this point.

If somebody could give me a general outline of what are the things that need to be done that would be great (I was looking on a lot of websites and I know about etc/sysconfig/network, httpd.config - not too much abot it on Apache's site, hostname, hostname -f etc; but it is kind of hard to piece it all together at this point). I am gonna be looking at the books also, but they not always reflect the setup that I have too (VirtualBox).

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th November 2011, 12:16
jtt89 jtt89 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I read somewhere that I should be able to connect to the guest (Linux) with Putty. I tired and I was not able to. I also looked at all the network configuration info (ipconfig /all and ifconfig) and that information has changed also. I keep making screenshots, because it is hard to keep track of it when I am not sure how is it suppose to work (pictures are here http://www.joliett89.comli.com/)

After the installation I was using (I think) 192.168.56.1 to ping host (Windows) from Linux and 192.168.56.101 the other way.
Today I think it should be 169.254.230.113 (ping from Linux) and 192.168.56.101 (the same, ping from Windows to Linux). So it gets confusing quickly.
Based on above information I was trying to use Putty with 192.168.56.101 as an address and that did not work...

(Host-only network is basically the network that needs to connect Windows and Linux)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th November 2011, 18:53
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Do you use bridge mode for your VM in VirtualBox?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th November 2011, 21:36
jtt89 jtt89 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

No, I use Host-only Adapter + NAT. This is the best option for me because I dont have a router (according to VirtualBox support forum).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All my mail is going to /var/mail/vmail _sluimers_ Installation/Configuration 21 10th January 2011 14:21
ISPConfig2 installation stalls at MySQL configuration on Lenny bonaventura Installation/Configuration 9 8th December 2009 21:33
squirrelmail and postfix witoszek General 12 1st December 2009 19:07
server Installation Configuration deco5003 Installation/Configuration 12 5th August 2009 13:00
Postfix Installation and Configuration akomaoako2k Installation/Configuration 1 31st July 2006 10:08


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.