Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th September 2005, 15:47
nformosa nformosa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Malta
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Username name default.

Hi again,

When creating email/user usernames i get a default of 'web[clientno]_'. This looks abit awkward and i would like to ask if i can set it up to default the domain name of the client...ie: [new username]@clientdomain.com or at least @clientdomain is enough?


One other thing i would like to ask...

If a domain has 2 email address's (info and support), and someone tries to send an email to admin@mydomain.com....is it possible that this email instead of bouncing back to the sender it goes to the support@mydomain.com!?


Thanks
Nick
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 13th September 2005, 16:41
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default

I could be wrong but I think you cant change the default name, I am sure I read it in another post somewhere.

As for your second point if there is not an e-mail address set up for "admin" then I dont think it can go anywhere, except be bounced back.

That is my understanding of it, but as always I could be wrong I have only had my system set up for about a week now so I am still learning myself.

(P.S put it this way for your second point I know for certain it cant be done on exchnage)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th September 2005, 16:50
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,763
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,331 Times in 4,183 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nformosa
When creating email/user usernames i get a default of 'web[clientno]_'. This looks abit awkward and i would like to ask if i can set it up to default the domain name of the client...ie: [new username]@clientdomain.com or at least @clientdomain is enough?
You can change it to use the domain instead of the we ID, it is described in the manual. But it is always a prefix. You cant use an @ sign in the usernames, because thei are linux system users and @ signs are not allowed in linux systemuser names.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nformosa
One other thing i would like to ask...

If a domain has 2 email address's (info and support), and someone tries to send an email to admin@mydomain.com....is it possible that this email instead of bouncing back to the sender it goes to the support@mydomain.com!?
If you put "admin" in the alias field of the email user "support", the user will gets email for this emailaddress too. If you want that the user support receives all email for addresses that are not available, then check the checkbox "catchall email" for the user support.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th September 2005, 16:59
nformosa nformosa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Malta
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

aha... so what you're saying is that the result would be somehing like: mydomain_support?


Thanks very much for your help Till!

Nick
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th September 2005, 17:02
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,763
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,331 Times in 4,183 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nformosa
aha... so what you're saying is that the result would be somehing like: mydomain_support?
Yes, in the current releases it is always a prefix. If you dont want a prefix at all, you can empty the userprefix field.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mail not accepting username and password! nformosa General 9 14th September 2005 09:58
webpages only display default site bosei Installation/Configuration 9 9th September 2005 21:25
Wrong username and password iceberg General 9 25th August 2005 21:48
Enable PHP in default directory ProTrooper Installation/Configuration 4 24th August 2005 18:26
my default webserver failed Venkatesh.S General 1 25th July 2005 10:11


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.