Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10th November 2011, 17:29
SupportMyster SupportMyster is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISPConfig 3 redirects to wrong domain

Unbuntu 10.04 perfert setup and updated
ISPConfig 3.0.3.3

Scenario: Logged in as a reseller, I created a client. Because the client wants a simple website I set the limits for subdomains and aliases to 0.

When I went to test the site, I can reach domain.tld but not www.domain.tld

Realizing that I need the domain to have a subdomain (auto-subdomain) to see www, as the reseller I changed subdomain to 1 but it does not seem to have had any effect.

The server's name is server1.domain-1.tld. When I try to visit the www.domain.tld it redirects to www.domain-1.tld which resides on another machine and at a completely different IP address.

I have checked the vhost file and the ServerAlias line changes from * to www when changed in ISPConfig. It seems the limit has not changed for the client. How can I fix this other that delete the client a create anew?

Also why the redirect to www of the base domain?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10th November 2011, 17:32
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,001
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,650 Times in 4,460 Posts
Default

Quote:
The server's name is server1.domain-1.tld. When I try to visit the www.domain.tld it redirects to www.domain-1.tld which resides on another machine and at a completely different IP address.
Then the DNS record for www.domain-1.tld points to the wrong IP address. So thats not a issue with the website on your ispconfig server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th November 2011, 17:44
SupportMyster SupportMyster is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default Solved

The DNS setting were correct.

It seems I had to flush what Firefox 8.0 knew to get it to work. I had closed and restarted firefox, even shutdown and restarted the machine, but that was not enough. I had to Tools->Options->Privacy->Clear all to get it working.

Thanks for the quick reply.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Control Panel - E-mail Tab is empty domi-nik General 15 14th April 2011 19:17
SquirrelMail login not working glenneh Installation/Configuration 13 9th April 2011 21:01
domain points to wrong directory -- with www. points correctly PermaNoob General 0 10th February 2010 18:58
New ISPconfig setup domain question wildgoosed Installation/Configuration 1 1st August 2007 21:30
Installation Troubles bswinnerton Installation/Configuration 4 29th July 2007 17:56


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.