Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 9th November 2011, 15:39
midcarolina midcarolina is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 254
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default Network Reconfig. w. ISPConfig 3.0.4

Hi,
I wasn't sure what category to put this under, so I went with ISPConfig to get the proper set-up instructions. This is what I am trying to do. I have a new Linux server set-up with a single public ip, netmask, gateway, etc. all configured already. I know now that this is going to cause bad load balancing issues soon so I have purchased a combination load balancer / port forwarding router to prevent this. When setting it up, I made adjustments to system-config-network, set up the LAN ip 192.168.x.xx as the first IP. I would like a step-by-step guide (please) to set this up without wrecking ISPConfig 3.0.4. My plan was to then create multiple static ips like my first box is now using:
eth0
eth0:0
eth0:1 etc., etc,

I also want to know (because I have this option) if I should add an additional ethernet card as eth1 and put the load balancer / router on this. I have seen that this can be done, but NOT in relation to ISPConfig, which is the deciding factor, as this is the CPanel I will be using. (already set-up flawlessly)

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10th November 2011, 07:21
CSsab CSsab is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 174
Thanks: 19
Thanked 32 Times in 27 Posts
 
Default

Hi - not sure if this will help since my setup is different to yours but this is what I do:

Configure the main server with the static IP (as you have already done so far as I can tell)

your network interfaces would look something like this:

# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.1.
200
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 192.168.1.0
broadcast 192.168.1.255
gateway 192.168.1.1


install bridge-utils

edit your "interfaces" file to look something like this:

# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
# auto eth0
# iface eth0 inet dhcp

# br0
auto br0
iface br0 inet static
address 192.168.1.200
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 192.168.1.0
broadcast 192.168.1.255
gateway 192.168.1.1
bridge_ports eth0
bridge_fd 0
bridge_maxwait 0
bridge_stp off
post-up /usr/sbin/brctl setfd br0 0

Then your new servers (or virtual machines) can all be configured with their own eth0 interfaces and be able to talk to each other.


OR set a few bridges up to isolate services and domain names (I don't have this setup at the moment but have used it before):


# br0
auto br0
iface br0 inet static
address 192.168.1.200
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 192.168.1.0
broadcast 192.168.1.255
gateway 192.168.1.1
bridge_ports eth0
bridge_fd 0
bridge_maxwait 0
bridge_stp off
post-up /usr/sbin/brctl setfd br0 0

# br1
auto br0
iface br0 inet static
address 192.168.1.201
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 192.168.1.0
broadcast 192.168.1.255
gateway 192.168.1.1
bridge_ports eth0 (or bridge to an eth1 interfaces)
bridge_fd 0
bridge_maxwait 0
bridge_stp off
post-up /usr/sbin/brctl setfd br1 0


As you can see there are quite a few ways to set up networking.
Good luck
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
eth0, port forwarding

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can not access my ispconfig page from outside network wake2010 Installation/Configuration 3 11th September 2011 10:50
ISPConfig 3.0.0.4 Beta Released till General 54 4th March 2009 09:55
ISPConfig 3.0.0.5 Beta Released till General 77 23rd July 2008 12:14
ISPconfig in a home network zenny Installation/Configuration 25 3rd January 2007 18:19


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.