Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2nd November 2011, 18:29
cat1510 cat1510 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Multi Server Setup with extra network interfaces

Hi Folks,

I just bought the 'new' 1.2 Manual few days ago and its old right now.
What am I doing wrong?

I got 3 Servers:

web/ispconfig
mail
db

Distri: Ubuntu 11.10

Did all things like described in the manual.
Expect one thing:

the hosts file.

Every Server got 2 Interfaces one for public Internet, the other is for internal use. internal use is 192.168.20.0/24 network with own Switch

So the Servers can talk faster und dont use WebTraffic...

First Trouble I found out is: When I create SQL-DB in ispconfig it isn't created @ the DB-Node.

I read a lot of threads here in the forum but doesnt found a solution.
I checked the mysql access from every server to every server.
In my.cnf is #bind 127.......... of course.

In my interfaces the 192.168.20.0/24 has no gateway.
Is it the mistake?

How shall I write the hosts file?

Code:
127.0.0.1   localhost
192.168.20.1 web.mydomain.com
192.168.20.2 mail.mydomain.com
192.168.20.3 db.mydomain.com

46.25.34.1  web.mydomain.com
46.25.34.1  mail.mydomain.com
46.25.34.1  db.mydomain.com
Thnx for any Information.


CAT
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 3rd November 2011, 09:07
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,439
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,209 Times in 4,085 Posts
Default

Quote:
I just bought the 'new' 1.2 Manual few days ago and its old right now.
The download links are active for 10 days, so you can redownload the new version of the manual if you bought the manual less then 10 days ago.

Quote:
Did all things like described in the manual.
Expect one thing:

the hosts file.
The hosts file is one of the most important parts, without that change, the setup wont work as mysql is not able to authenticate the users correctly so no changes will get synced between the servers.

If you have just one external IP address, then you have to use the internal IP addresses, as the hostnnames of the servers have to point to to the IP address of the server that runs the service.

Changing the hostbame after the installtion will not fix the setup. I recommend that you fix the hosts files, then uninstall ispconfig on all 3 servers first by using the uninstall.php script (which is in the install folder of the ispconfig tar.gz) and then reinstall ispconfig with the install.php script.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd November 2011, 10:13
cat1510 cat1510 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
The download links are active for 10 days, so you can redownload the new version of the manual if you bought the manual less then 10 days ago.
Thnx for the hint. Now I got 1.3

Quote:
Changing the hostbame after the installtion will not fix the setup. I recommend that you fix the hosts files, then uninstall ispconfig on all 3 servers first by using the uninstall.php script (which is in the install folder of the ispconfig tar.gz) and then reinstall ispconfig with the install.php script.
Ok i removed all second Interfaces and changed the hosts file on every sever.
All ispconfig ist uninstalled by uninstall.php and I removed ispconfig user from mysql.user table

I installed 3.0.4 and got the same Problem. Database / User isn't created.
Do u got idea what i can check?

Of course i granted access from the hostnames and IP's to Master Node.
They r in DNS registered too and can be resolved.
But how the Master Node gets Access to the db-Server and creates DB?
Or does the isp-panel creates db directly on db-server?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd November 2011, 10:20
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,439
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,209 Times in 4,085 Posts
Default

Quote:
But how the Master Node gets Access to the db-Server and creates DB?
Or does the isp-panel creates db directly on db-server?
Neither nor. The slave connects to the master server and checks for changes. It then replicates the changes to its local database and then executes the nescessary actions.

To debug your problem, enable debugging for the slave in the ispconfig master controlpanel. Then login to the slave as root user on the shell, comment out the server.sh cronjob in the root crontab (run 'crontab -e' to start cron editor) by adding a # in front of the line and then run the script:

/usr/local/ispconfig/server/server.sh
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd November 2011, 10:26
cat1510 cat1510 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Neither nor. The slave connects to the master server and checks for changes. It then replicates the changes to its local database and then executes the nescessary actions.
OK maybe I'm too impatiently only. How much time it takes?
Can I do the action manually?

Thnx.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 3rd November 2011, 10:28
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,439
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,209 Times in 4,085 Posts
Default

Quote:
OK maybe I'm too impatiently only. How much time it takes?
1-2 minutes.

Quote:
Can I do the action manually?
Plaese see instructions in my post above.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd November 2011, 11:10
cat1510 cat1510 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Code:
(ROOT@kbispdb)~ispconfig/server# ./server.sh                                                        (2011-11-03 10:58:00)
finished.
(ROOT@kbispdb)~ispconfig/server#
On MasterNode the database is in the dbispconfig. I had a look for it.

server.sh works without any failure.

Code:
(ROOT@kbispdb)~ispconfig/server# mysql -u root -h kbispweb.kbrez.de -p            (2011-11-03 11:05:12)
Enter password: 
Welcome to the MySQL monitor.  Commands end with ; or \g.
Your MySQL connection id is 46959
Server version: 5.1.58-1ubuntu1 (Ubuntu)

Copyright (c) 2000, 2010, Oracle and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved.
This software comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY. This is free software,
and you are welcome to modify and redistribute it under the GPL v2 license

Type 'help;' or '\h' for help. Type '\c' to clear the current input statement.

mysql> quit
Bye
(ROOT@kbispdb)~ispconfig/server#
Works easy.
SQL Sync doesnt work..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 3rd November 2011, 11:17
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,439
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,209 Times in 4,085 Posts
Default

Quote:
(ROOT@kbispdb)~ispconfig/server# ./server.sh (2011-11-03 10:58:00)
finished.
(ROOT@kbispdb)~ispconfig/server#
If you followed my staeps exactly, then this indicates an error as you should see more details in debug mode. Or have you not enabled debugging for this slave in the master control panel.

Quote:
Works easy.
SQL Sync doesnt work..
Yiu tested with the wrong login details. The root user is not used by the server.sh script to connect to the master server. This would be too dangerous.

ISPConfig uses a different user with low priveliges. So if you want to test the mysql connection from slave to master with the mysql command on the shell, then use the login details for the master server as found in the file /usr/local/ispconfig/server/lib/config.inc.php on the slave.

Just one other question, are you really sure that the slave server was selcted as target for the database? Login as admin and go to the database details and check if the correct slave server is selected in the database details and not e.g. the master server instead.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 3rd November 2011, 11:46
cat1510 cat1510 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default Done!

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
If you followed my staeps exactly, then this indicates an error as you should see more details in debug mode. Or have you not enabled debugging for this slave in the master control panel.
I clicked in ispconfigpanel on Server Config >> Slave Node db-server
Loglevel Debug --> save

Quote:
ISPConfig uses a different user with low priveliges. So if you want to test the mysql connection from slave to master with the mysql command on the shell, then use the login details for the master server as found in the file /usr/local/ispconfig/server/lib/config.inc.php on the slave.
Ok that seems to be the problem. I checked in phpmyadmin mysql.user.table
There is a ispcsrv3 user but without password... ? Strange or not?

I got it!
The dbusers off the nodes had no passwords.
Why ever? ISP-Config creates them regular...

Quote:
(ROOT@kbispdb)~ispconfig/server# ./server.sh (2011-11-03 11:32:20)
03.11.2011-11:32 - DEBUG - Set Lock: /usr/local/ispconfig/server/temp/.ispconfig_lock
03.11.2011-11:32 - DEBUG - No Updated records found, starting only the core.
03.11.2011-11:32 - DEBUG - Remove Lock: /usr/local/ispconfig/server/temp/.ispconfig_lock
finished.

Quote:
(ROOT@kbispdb)~ispconfig/server#
Just one other question, are you really sure that the slave server was selcted as target for the database? Login as admin and go to the database details and check if the correct slave server is selected in the database details and not e.g. the master server instead.
I checked 1000 times and read some threads in here. There was an older MultiServer Thread and I did as u mentioned there.

Now it seems to be fine. The DB-Node already created the DB.

Can u write me an invoice with 50,00EUR for the very good support to .... [email address removed by admin] .....


THX a lot.


CAT

Last edited by till; 3rd November 2011 at 12:12. Reason: removed email address
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
User unknown in relay recipient table Taxick Installation/Configuration 12 9th April 2013 12:31
php Apps email not going through palkat General 8 21st September 2011 05:35
local ip:8080 just downloads a file called download or index.php dr_patso Installation/Configuration 5 20th September 2011 20:54
I don't recieve mail. privir Installation/Configuration 2 3rd June 2009 22:08
Problems with Postfix Mysql Courier PatrickAdrichem Installation/Configuration 3 13th April 2007 15:44


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.