Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18th October 2011, 20:57
JESUSSAVES JESUSSAVES is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: U.S.
Posts: 76
Thanks: 10
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default redirect to subdirectory of website

Hi,

I'm doing a "Subdomain for website" (page 98 in manual). I've uploaded a "sales" directory to my document root (/var/www/mydomain.com/web) and entered this information and clicked save.

Host: sales
Domain: mydomain.com
Redirect Type: L
Redirect Path: /sales/

I enter into my browser sales.mydomain.com, however I'm getting a MozFF error "Sorry, Page not found".

What mistake could I have made or how can this be accomplished? I'd like to give my users the opportunity to use this function.

Thank you, thank you.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 18th October 2011, 21:24
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,814
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,340 Times in 4,189 Posts
Default

Which ISPConfig version do you use?

Please be aware that you can only have html pages in the sales directory and no php scripts. The recommended option for subdomains that have their own directory is to create a website and not use the subdomain function.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.

Last edited by till; 18th October 2011 at 21:26.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th October 2011, 22:02
JESUSSAVES JESUSSAVES is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: U.S.
Posts: 76
Thanks: 10
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default have installed ISPConfig 3.0.3.3

The reason I like this feature is so that (i'm using the domain module) I don't have to create a new site for them, and I want to be able to tell them how to use the feature.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th October 2011, 22:06
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,814
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,340 Times in 4,189 Posts
Default

Have you created a dns a-record for sales.mydomain.com. in the zone mydomain.com that points to the IP address of the website where you added that subdomain?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
JESUSSAVES (19th October 2011)
  #5  
Old 19th October 2011, 00:49
JESUSSAVES JESUSSAVES is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: U.S.
Posts: 76
Thanks: 10
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Have you created a dns a-record for sales.mydomain.com. in the zone mydomain.com that points to the IP address of the website where you added that subdomain?
Oh.

It works now! Thank you!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Redirect goes to first website dlucy Installation/Configuration 8 18th September 2011 02:04
New feature request: Frame redirect funtion for ISPConfig3 Hans Feature Requests 1 12th January 2011 00:43
I need to manage some website with ISPConfig(setup redirect) voltron81 Installation/Configuration 6 19th May 2010 15:51
set up 301 redirect from old website to new website showe1966 Server Operation 1 22nd September 2007 12:30
Dspam planet_fox General 6 20th January 2007 18:42


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.