#1  
Old 13th October 2011, 06:11
kwickcut kwickcut is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: nj usa
Posts: 223
Thanks: 14
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Default adding hd for a site

i know how to add a new hard drive to the serve. question is how can i add a hard drive to the server and give access to this drive for one site.

say i have 2 drives
/dev/sda1
/dev/sdb1
/dev/sdc1

i want /dev/sd1 and /dev/sdb1 to be general for sites 1,2,3,4 and want /dev/sdc1 to be just for site 3 for extra storage

now all sites are running so i dont know if this is an issue


kwick
__________________
Operating system Ubuntu Linux 10.04.4
ISPConfig Version: 3.0.4.3
Webmin version 1.580
Kernel and CPU Linux 2.6.32-40-server on x86_64
Processor information AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 945 Processor, 4 cores
Real memory 4.0 GB total
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 13th October 2011, 14:04
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Just put the document root of site3 on the third hard drive.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th October 2011, 16:53
kwickcut kwickcut is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: nj usa
Posts: 223
Thanks: 14
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Default

so are you saying if the old site directory is say /var/www/clients/client#/web# i should make it /dev/sdc1/folder



kwick
__________________
Operating system Ubuntu Linux 10.04.4
ISPConfig Version: 3.0.4.3
Webmin version 1.580
Kernel and CPU Linux 2.6.32-40-server on x86_64
Processor information AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 945 Processor, 4 cores
Real memory 4.0 GB total
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th October 2011, 01:40
Franz Franz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cakovec
Posts: 120
Thanks: 7
Thanked 24 Times in 18 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Franz
Default

make backup of: /var/www/clients/client#/web#

mount sdc1 to /var/www/clients/client#/web# directory

restore data
__________________
my PAGE
VoIP
my IT help blog
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th October 2011, 17:13
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kwickcut View Post
so are you saying if the old site directory is say /var/www/clients/client#/web# i should make it /dev/sdc1/folder
You need to mount sdc1 somewhere first, as Franz explained.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th October 2011, 03:56
kwickcut kwickcut is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: nj usa
Posts: 223
Thanks: 14
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Default

would this work

Code:
sudo mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt/sdb1 -t ext3 /var/www/clients/client#/web#

kwick
__________________
Operating system Ubuntu Linux 10.04.4
ISPConfig Version: 3.0.4.3
Webmin version 1.580
Kernel and CPU Linux 2.6.32-40-server on x86_64
Processor information AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 945 Processor, 4 cores
Real memory 4.0 GB total
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18th October 2011, 10:24
Franz Franz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cakovec
Posts: 120
Thanks: 7
Thanked 24 Times in 18 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Franz
Default

yes it will work, but you have to backup data before.
__________________
my PAGE
VoIP
my IT help blog
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18th October 2011, 16:47
kwickcut kwickcut is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: nj usa
Posts: 223
Thanks: 14
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
 
Default

ty



kwick
__________________
Operating system Ubuntu Linux 10.04.4
ISPConfig Version: 3.0.4.3
Webmin version 1.580
Kernel and CPU Linux 2.6.32-40-server on x86_64
Processor information AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 945 Processor, 4 cores
Real memory 4.0 GB total
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding SSL certificate to Site snowfly Installation/Configuration 2 31st May 2011 13:54
Remoting : Adding a site (ISPConfig + TheHostingTool Integration) jmontoya Developers' Forum 91 17th March 2011 21:41
Strato Server - Restoring with SystemImager popper2001 HOWTO-Related Questions 5 28th July 2007 11:18
Creating image with Systemimager cuongtim HOWTO-Related Questions 3 18th November 2006 14:55
Shared IP error when adding new site amoswright Installation/Configuration 15 15th June 2006 16:04


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.