Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11th October 2011, 21:04
ngoyette ngoyette is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 41
Thanks: 15
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eko_taas View Post
As I have understood (and done) there is no need to do anything on DNS-side on your org. need... At least on my system, where only one server ("server1") in ISPConfig-system.

Actually I have had no need to change DNS-settings till today (several sites, domains pointing to same IP-address).

As newbee just happy as working w/o understanding on details
you mean that ispconfig is auto configuring dns with the alias?
because if x.domain.com is not registered in the dns nobody outside can ask for this subdomain " x " because it doesn't exist on the outside world ....its really weird..
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 11th October 2011, 22:21
ngoyette ngoyette is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 41
Thanks: 15
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

even if i create any web site in the sites > Websites

and i got on the redirect tab , and do a redirect to google....

well it give me a "Welcome to your website!" on green text page... this make no senses at all...

i think something is broken on my ISPconfig ... how can i repair this?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11th October 2011, 22:58
eko_taas eko_taas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 92
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Default an other test...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ngoyette View Post
you mean that ispconfig is auto configuring dns with the alias?
because if x.domain.com is not registered in the dns nobody outside can ask for this subdomain " x " because it doesn't exist on the outside world ....its really weird..
I have several (testing) websites on my test-server (only sites created, no DNS changes):
example.com (pointing to my public IP)
www.example.com
ftp.example.com
Dyndns (updated by DynDNS client http://dyn.com/support/clients/linux/ )
abc.dyndns-ip.com

And when tested alias as told before, all w/o any manual changes on DNS (on terminal or ISPConfig) (as I can recall of ).

I made an other test (to point to outside world as well)
new alias: howto.example.com, rederect, http://www.howtoforge.com, None, active
wait for 1 min (for ISPConfig update) and Vola (works like a dream acc. to test...
http://howto.example.com or pure howto.example.com ==>> http://www.howtoforge.com/

Checked also that no new automarking ISPConfig DNS-records. Looks to me that not needed.

Last edited by eko_taas; 11th October 2011 at 22:59. Reason: typos again
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12th October 2011, 17:12
ngoyette ngoyette is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 41
Thanks: 15
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

this make no sense ....

i tried CNAME:
webmail
lburgoyne.ca.

i tried A record:
webmail.lburgoyne.ca.
64.15.130.185

no change in problem..


then in the website i created aliasdomain:
parent website: lburgoyne.ca
webmail.lburgoyne.ca
L,R
http://www.google.ca
auto-subdomain none

also tried subdomain for a website ... doesn't work ..


now does this mean i will have to create a subdomain and add an .htaccess to the website for redirection?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12th October 2011, 19:56
ngoyette ngoyette is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 41
Thanks: 15
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

funny thing is that when i edit :
/etc/apache2/sites-enabled/100-lburgoyne.ca.vhost

and add

<VirtualHost *:80>
ServerAlias webmail.*
RewriteEngine On
RewriteLog "/var/log/apache2/rewrite.log"
RewriteLogLevel 3
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^webmail\.(.+) [NC]
RewriteRule (.*) http://mail.%1/webmail/ [R=301,L]
</VirtualHost>

it works.....


so what is wrong with isp config???
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 13th October 2011, 10:29
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,490
Thanks: 835
Thanked 5,526 Times in 4,346 Posts
Default

The redirect that eko_taas described in this thread works fine, I use it on several servers. So there is nothing wrong with ispconfig. Maybe you did not wait until the changes were written to disk as you tested it or there was a typo in your settings.

What you did now is something different as you added a new wildcard vhost and not just a redirect, there are always a lot of ways to achieve a specific behaviour with apache rewrites and redirects. The only thing that you should change is that you add your new vhost in its own vhost file and not the file /etc/apache2/sites-enabled/100-lburgoyne.ca.vhost, as your current changes will get removed automatically from /etc/apache2/sites-enabled/100-lburgoyne.ca.vhost
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
ngoyette (17th October 2011)
  #17  
Old 17th October 2011, 19:17
ngoyette ngoyette is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 41
Thanks: 15
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
The redirect that eko_taas described in this thread works fine, I use it on several servers. So there is nothing wrong with ispconfig. Maybe you did not wait until the changes were written to disk as you tested it or there was a typo in your settings.
how much time should it take for change to be writen to disk?

i will give you access to admin on my ispconfig if you need to....... im pretty sure i followed instruction to the letter ..

Last edited by ngoyette; 17th October 2011 at 19:21.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 17th October 2011, 20:16
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,490
Thanks: 835
Thanked 5,526 Times in 4,346 Posts
Default

Normally it takes about one minute.

I can check that on your server, but remote login support is not free. So if you like that one of your admins checks your system, please contact us here:

http://support.projektfarm.com/
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 18th October 2011, 20:03
ngoyette ngoyette is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 41
Thanks: 15
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

i understand,

so

if i have : DNS :


and : ALIAS :


typing web.lburgoyne.ca should redirect me to http://mail.lburgoyne.ca/webmail right?


but i still get:

after 2 days... still...\



so is there something wrong in my config??
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 19th October 2011, 10:51
eko_taas eko_taas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 92
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
 
Default

no need to edit your DNS as ISPConfig will do automatically (at least in my case).

If you delete all DNS settings (manually done by you), does it work (like in my case)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rewrite rule: webmail.domain.com to domain.com/webmail florix.net Installation/Configuration 3 21st January 2011 15:12
Management -> system config -> settings clabrown Installation/Configuration 4 24th August 2007 17:56
Management -> Server -> Settings problems merlincc Installation/Configuration 6 27th November 2006 22:57
Traffic overview in ISP Manager > ISP Site > Statistics: Overall 0.00 tom Installation/Configuration 2 23rd April 2006 15:17
Management -> Server Settings -> DNS -> Default MX doesn't work :-( ddelbia General 6 14th January 2006 15:26


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.