#1  
Old 27th September 2011, 13:32
Salital Salital is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 48
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Subdomain, Godaddy & NO-IP

Hi Guys,

I buyed a domain in Godaddy and after I buyed a DNS Service in NO-IP. My home webserver is connect to internet with an Dynamic IP

With ISPConfig 3 my domain works!))))

But now I have to create several subdomain as:

user1.mydomain.com
user2.mydomain.com
......
......
userN.mydomain.com

I saw is possible create subdomain with ISPConfig

MY FIRST QUESTION

when I create a subdomain create a subdirectory to my directory website?

I mean if my website is in this directory

ispconfigdirectory/client1/web1

my web domain is in this directory?

ispconfigdirectory/client1/web1/subdoman1

or I can create a dedicated directory outside this path?

MY SECOND QUESTION (I apologize for my incompetence)

I have to buy the subdomain in Godaddy? Each subdomain have a different IP?

thank you in advance,

Sal
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th September 2011, 14:16
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,671
Thanks: 819
Thanked 5,317 Times in 4,170 Posts
Default

Quote:
when I create a subdomain create a subdirectory to my directory website?
If the subdomain shall have its own directory, then you create a nwe website for that subdomain instead of using the subdomain function.

Quote:
I have to buy the subdomain in Godaddy?
No. But you have to create a dns a or cname record for this subdomain in the godaddy dns server.

Quote:
Each subdomain have a different IP?
No. You can run multiple domains on the same IP.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th September 2011, 04:10
Salital Salital is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 48
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks Till everything work!

I create with NO-IP a host.sub.domain.com we have a URL like that:

www.user.mywebdomain.com

I create in ISPConfig 3 a new website and not a new sub-domain and its works!

Also I create for the client a ssh access and it works. The user with ssh account reach its website (in this case www.user.mywebdomain.com)

Username: [clientname]username@mywebdomain.com
Pass: *********

But the ftp access that I create does't work

This is my parameter

ftp host: ftp.mywebdomain.com (in the NO-IP panel I can edit that)
user:[clientusername]
pass:******

NOTE: my router is configurate for ssh & ftp access

I hope everything is clear!

bye,

S
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th September 2011, 16:40
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

Did you try both active and passive transfers in your FTP client?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th September 2011, 02:33
Salital Salital is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 48
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yep! Error 530 Login Authentication Fail!

host data incorect?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29th September 2011, 18:02
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Salital View Post
ftp host: ftp.mywebdomain.com (in the NO-IP panel I can edit that)
user:[clientusername]
pass:******
Is this an ISPConfig username (a username that you can use to log into ISPConfig)? If so, this cannot work. You must create an explicit FTP user in ISPConfig.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DNS zone and subdomain with Joomla, Drupal, Wordpress emanation Installation/Configuration 6 16th September 2011 10:41
Proper subdomain support. arcain6 Feature Requests 1 28th June 2010 10:15
How Subdomain works (for documentation) moglia Developers' Forum 7 19th June 2010 22:14
Subdomain and go daddy help djmidknight Installation/Configuration 3 7th April 2010 16:20
Dynamic IPs, GoDaddy, Domains and ISPConfig3 linuxbastard Installation/Configuration 0 24th November 2009 11:48


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.