#1  
Old 26th September 2011, 15:58
midcarolina midcarolina is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 254
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default Creating Own Nameservers

Hi,

I have purchased two domains for two servers. The domain registrar is GoDaddy. I followed the instructions for creating the nameservers in HowToForge and added ns1, and ns2 to GoDaddy's hosts records, where the IPs were accepted. A who-is identifies the ns1 and ns2 perfectly, but intodns.com says these are "lame duck" nameservers (I think this was the term used?) I'm not sure exactly how to correct this. I am not sure if this is an issue that needs to be configured in ISPConfig 3 or it is purely a Linux issue, maybe /etc/hosts ? Any help would be appreciated. I don't mind using GoDaddy's nameservers on my own accounts, but not for other clients or those registered outside of GoDaddy, like Enom, or Network Solutions, etc.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 26th September 2011, 17:23
laptop_user laptop_user is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 92
Thanks: 41
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

erm.. I'm not sure what you want to achieve. If you want to use your domain with ISPC you need to add the domain records in the DNS module.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th September 2011, 19:00
midcarolina midcarolina is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 254
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Hi,

Thanks for the response. What I am trying to achieve is having my own nameservers for a client to use that points to my server. I purchased two domains for this purpose. The nameserver hosts have been created at the domain registrar (GoDaddy), and added to the DNS records in ISPConfig. Still no go. Doing a who-is shows ns1.example.com with the correct IP and likewise for ns2, but they won't resolve the domain that is using them as nameservers. Hopefully this clarifies some?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th September 2011, 19:08
laptop_user laptop_user is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 92
Thanks: 41
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
 
Default

try this. http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...68&postcount=4

DNS >> Zones >> Select domain names >> click A


I dunno why I need to do the step above but it works for me. I guess A record have no NS to point to IP.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
name server

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ubuntu Server, ISPConfig, Domain name, and problems NYCSavage Server Operation 5 27th November 2009 17:45
DNS server problems sulfuric Installation/Configuration 1 8th October 2007 17:17
ISPConfig 2.2.14 released till General 48 19th July 2007 23:46
Unable send receive emails vassilis3 Installation/Configuration 15 19th May 2007 14:34
No SPF record. beryl Installation/Configuration 6 17th May 2007 19:52


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.