Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19th September 2011, 20:54
herbie herbie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 66
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISPcongig3 and Joomla 1.7

I'm trying out Joomla 1.7 on my Perfect Ubuntu server w ispconfig3.
When I try to add an item to the main menu, the screen idles and then goes blank. Googling the problem I found another used who found in the ispconfig logs
Code:
PHP Warning:  readdir() expects parameter 1 to be resource, boolean given
So did I. His fix was to change the site's PHP settings from FasCGI to suPHP.
That made no difference when I tried changing it on my site.
NOTE: all the other sites on server are FastCGI, and all work perfect with Joomla1.5
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 19th September 2011, 21:26
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,763
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,331 Times in 4,183 Posts
Default

I doubt that this problem is related to the use of ispconfig. Instead you should check if this joomla version is compatible to the php version that you have installed on that server and that you uploaded all fils under the correct user. I installed a joomla 1.7 for a client last week and it worked out of the box on ispconfig 3 / debian 6 with suexec + php-fastcgi enabled.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th September 2011, 01:12
herbie herbie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 66
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The site was originally setup with FastCGI, can that actually be changed to suPHP once the site is up? Do you remember what yours was set to?

There's nothing up yet, so I'm going to trash the site and try from scratch again. I'll post back.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th September 2011, 09:26
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,763
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,331 Times in 4,183 Posts
Default

Quote:
The site was originally setup with FastCGI, can that actually be changed to suPHP once the site is up?
Yes. But fastcgi + suexec is the recommended setting for cms systems.

Quote:
Do you remember what yours was set to?
fastcgi + suexec
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st September 2011, 21:55
herbie herbie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 66
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No other setting other than using suPHP on the original site setup works.
Changing it to that after the site's been set up gives the same symptoms, or 'internal server error' even if you delete and reinstall the Joomla.
Tested on two servers:
For Joomla 1.7 and ISPConfig 3.02, 3.03 set to suPHP
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st September 2011, 22:10
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,763
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,331 Times in 4,183 Posts
 
Default

Works fine on my servers with joomla 1.7, ispconfig 3.0.3 and php-fcgi + suexec. A 500 error indicates that there is a configuration problem on your server or the files are uploaded by the wrong user. Please post the exact error message from the error.log of the website.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.