#1  
Old 6th July 2006, 19:39
Tortanick Tortanick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Questions about Xen

I read http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_xe..._debian_ubuntu and it seems great however I am left with three questions.

1) I'd like to use a seprate /home, /var /var/spool as well as the root partiton, do I just ammend disk= to include some extra images then later modify Fstab or do I do something to the xen config file?

2) After forwarding all the relevent ports to the virtual servers, how can I block everything except updates via apt from reaching Dom0

3) How should I devide my ram between
Dom0: basic debian install modified to include xen
Vm01: Mail server, with squirrell mail and monit
Vm02: PureFTPD and monit
Vm03: another Pure-Ftpd also with monit, (traffic from the net will be redirected to non-standard ports at the firewall level)

I have 256 meg of ram, if that not enough I'll drop Vm03
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 7th July 2006, 12:52
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tortanick
1) I'd like to use a seprate /home, /var /var/spool as well as the root partiton, do I just ammend disk= to include some extra images then later modify Fstab or do I do something to the xen config file?
Create an extra image for each partition and add it to the vm's Xen config file.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tortanick
2) After forwarding all the relevent ports to the virtual servers, how can I block everything except updates via apt from reaching Dom0
I'd just close down all services on dom0 except for SSH.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tortanick
3) How should I devide my ram between
Dom0: basic debian install modified to include xen
Vm01: Mail server, with squirrell mail and monit
Vm02: PureFTPD and monit
Vm03: another Pure-Ftpd also with monit, (traffic from the net will be redirected to non-standard ports at the firewall level)

I have 256 meg of ram, if that not enough I'll drop Vm03
I think you have to find this out by trying. Try to run dom0 with just 32MB.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th July 2006, 16:31
Tortanick Tortanick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Create an extra image for each partition and add it to the vm's Xen config file.
Um, that dosn't awnser the question, to mount partions do I SSH to the virtual machine and edit Fstab, or do I edit the Xen config file?

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
I'd just close down all services on dom0 except for SSH.
If you're sure ok, I thought I'd have to routenly get the latest updates.


Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
I think you have to find this out by trying. Try to run dom0 with just 32MB.
Ok, I'll try. What would you recomend to generate a log of system resorse useage, preffrably for text editors not web browsers.
Also is there any rules to assigning ram? multiple of 32 only? only 32,64,128...

Last edited by Tortanick; 8th July 2006 at 10:50.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th July 2006, 12:30
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tortanick
Um, that dosn't awnser the question, to mount partions do I SSH to the virtual machine and edit Fstab, or do I edit the Xen config file?
Both. http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_xe...bian_ubuntu_p4 and http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_xe...bian_ubuntu_p5 should give you the idea.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tortanick
Ok, I'll try. What would you recomend to generate a log of system resorse useage, preffrably for text editors not web browsers.
You could create a cron job that writes the output of
Code:
uptime
to a text files every 5 minutes or so.
If you want something for your browser, have a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/server_monitoring_monit_munin
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tortanick
Also is there any rules to assigning ram? multiple of 32 only? only 32,64,128...
It's totally up to you.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th July 2006, 17:09
Tortanick Tortanick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

thanks for all the help
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Few questions about ISPConfig DennisDee Installation/Configuration 7 7th April 2009 21:52
Hostname & DNS questions... SurfingAlien Installation/Configuration 6 16th October 2007 16:32
Mandriva 2006 Install questions bersi Installation/Configuration 26 1st November 2006 16:52
questions from a newbie in a hurry... ignasigarcia Installation/Configuration 2 22nd June 2006 23:54
postfix questions Ovidiu Server Operation 1 23rd October 2005 13:20


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.