Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd September 2011, 18:54
kelyiu3000 kelyiu3000 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 24
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default how to set 1 ip to primary and secondary DNS?

Can I follow the step of How To Run Your Own DNS Servers (Primary And Secondary) With ISPConfig 3 (Debian Squeeze)?

And I find that the topic is for two different IP....I only have public ip, how can I set up my server? I do want to use ns1.xxx.com and ns2.xxx.com for dns server as a same ip. Only create the dns record or some else?

Thank you very much!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 3rd September 2011, 21:05
otacon otacon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 109
Thanks: 5
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

You can have both have the same ip address, but the reason why you have a back is incase one of the servers go down.

You say you have a Public IP address... what does that mean? Are you saying you have a external dynamic IP address or external Static IP address?
__________________
Debian 7.4 Server:
ISPConfig Version: 3.0.5.3

Please visit my Mini-howto, "How To Create Remote API Scripts For ISPConfig 3"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th September 2011, 09:30
kelyiu3000 kelyiu3000 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 24
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by otacon View Post
You can have both have the same ip address, but the reason why you have a back is incase one of the servers go down.

You say you have a Public IP address... what does that mean? Are you saying you have a external dynamic IP address or external Static IP address?
Sorry....it is external Static IP address
Can I just add the dns records in the DNS zone...Thx
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th September 2011, 17:04
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,059
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,393 Times in 4,237 Posts
Default

For dns records you should use the external ip. Ns1 and ns2 should have different ip addresses even if both ip adresses are pointing to the same physical server as most domain registries require that. You might want to ask the company where you registered the domain if thEy require that too.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th September 2011, 18:59
kelyiu3000 kelyiu3000 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 24
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
For dns records you should use the external ip. Ns1 and ns2 should have different ip addresses even if both ip adresses are pointing to the same physical server as most domain registries require that. You might want to ask the company where you registered the domain if thEy require that too.
hi, thank for reply me.

I would like to ask I have already use the same external ip registered as ns1 and ns2 record in domain provider and ispcp but I would like to change from ispcp to ispconfig. Does it mean ispconfig do not support the same external ip registered as ns1 and ns2 record?

In test server, I try to add ns1 and ns2 in dns zone as same external ip, I think it got work. Is that a possible solution?

Thank you very much.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th September 2011, 10:06
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

You can use the same IP in ISPConfig as well.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System State - How To Run Your Own DNS Servers (Primary And Secondary) mattltm HOWTO-Related Questions 2 22nd July 2011 21:03
Primary and Secondary DNS - Multiserver erosbk Server Operation 0 19th May 2011 21:50
Help:two isp3 servers primary and secondary dns u4david Installation/Configuration 6 17th June 2010 20:53
Unable send receive emails vassilis3 Installation/Configuration 15 19th May 2007 14:34
How set DNS entry for different server? SupuS Installation/Configuration 1 12th June 2006 09:48


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.