Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30th August 2011, 17:58
midcarolina midcarolina is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 254
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default ISPConfig getting worse by the day

Trying to add a new site to "The Perfect Server" with ISPConfig 3. The Control Panel used to at least create everything and accessing worked fine (like phpMyAdmin, FTP, etc.) Now ISPConfig is creating all of the accounts, like a new FTP user for new domain. Shows up in ISPConfig 3 panel fine....doesn't work. Created MySql Database. While the table was always empty, at least the database name was there (as shown perfectly in CP), now had to manually name the database as well. Trying to connect and transfer files w/ FTP says "503 Login Authentication Failed". "Critical Error" Turned right around and logged into original site with same FTP credentials just fine. Settings in ISPConfig CP are "fine". ISPConfig seems to be getting worse with each passing day. Nothing works really at all.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 30th August 2011, 19:18
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

From your previous posts I get the impression that you are doing something fundamentally wrong, but it's hard to tell from the distance what it is. All I can say that ISPConfig is working as expected for me...

Did you check your logs? How exactly did you set up your server?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th August 2011, 19:37
midcarolina midcarolina is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 254
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

I followed HowToForge's "The Perfect Server" for Fedora 14 Linux to the tee. Every response I received along the way and upon completion was the exact expected response according to the install.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th August 2011, 21:57
mentes mentes is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Spain
Posts: 132
Thanks: 4
Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Check logs is the best way for know what happens.

The ftp connection problems can be that you are banned by fail2ban.

Your server is connected through a firewall or NAT ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th August 2011, 23:48
midcarolina midcarolina is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 254
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

The server is connected through / via NAT. The only issue I have with the fail2ban possibilities is that the new domain / site is under the same account as the one that works (is live). That FTP client is set-up precisely as the new domain and accesses perfectly with SSH File Transfer or FTP.

Not sure that it matters anyway. I have checked bind...online perfectly...all servers using the ISPConfig "Monitor" are online. In the ISPConfig database, all websites (domains) are listed precisely, yet ISPConfig file system doesn't at all.

It may be time to consider another reliable control panel option. Any recommendations on a stable and less finicky open source control panel?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31st August 2011, 07:37
mentes mentes is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Spain
Posts: 132
Thanks: 4
Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
Default

I'm not sure I understand your problem. Some FTP accounts works fine and others not ?

When you talk about DB is a DB for site or ISPConfig's DB ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by midcarolina View Post
It may be time to consider another reliable control panel option. Any recommendations on a stable and less finicky open source control panel?
The problem isn't ISPConfig.

You should be check carefully processes, configuration files and logs for know what fails.

You can download a well configured ISPConfig images from here http://www.howtoforge.com/list-of-do...-vmware-images and compare it with your installation.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31st August 2011, 13:53
midcarolina midcarolina is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 254
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Yes, you have it correct. One FTP is fine and the other is not. They are under the exact same account with the exact same steps taken to configure.

What I was referring to about the databases were two different items.

First, when you create a database in ISPConfig, and then log into phpMyAdmin, the database NAME is there, waiting for you to drop (or build) the tables. In ISPConfig's CP, it shows the new domain's database listed, named, etc., but logging into phpMyAdmin.....empty.

The other database issue is that when you add new sites using ISPConfig, the information that is shown in the Control Panel is also shown is ISPConfig's Database. Both site's information is staring me in the face in THIS database, yet the information is useless for the new site. ISPConfig created no file path for the new site, even though it did add the new web2 file.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 31st August 2011, 15:32
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,788
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,337 Times in 4,187 Posts
Default

1) Check in the ispconfig monitor if there are any pending jobs listed in the jobqueue.
2) Check in the ispconfig monitor, if there are any errors listed in the system log.
3) get the directories created when you run:

/usr/local/ispconfig/server/server.sh

as root user on the shell?

4) Is the mysql root password in the file /usr/local/ispconfig/server/lib/mysql_clientdb.conf correct?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 31st August 2011, 16:46
midcarolina midcarolina is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 254
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Till,

In the ISP "Monitor" Jobque, there is a one page list of items that range from dns items to ftp items and mail items. Under the "Action" section for all listed is "Update".

As for the system error log - this is empty

running /usr/local/ispconfig/server/server.sh returns no action. It returns me to the [@root] prompt

As for /usr/local/ispconfig/server/lib/mysql_clientdb.conf the answer is "Yes" the password is correct.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 31st August 2011, 21:17
mentes mentes is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Spain
Posts: 132
Thanks: 4
Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
 
Default

If you have items in Jobqueue it means this actions isn't executed yet. If you add a new ftp account but is in queue this account doesn't work.

When you run

Code:
sh /usr/local/ispconfig/server/server.sh
You should get

Code:
root@main:~# sh /usr/local/ispconfig/server/server.sh
finished.
root@main:~#
And queue list will be empty.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PHP warnings after upgrade to ISP config 3.03 stevegjacobs Installation/Configuration 5 30th October 2010 14:31
Chrooted environments with Ubuntu and IspConfig hrvbid Installation/Configuration 5 23rd December 2009 18:44
Loads of mysql connections to dbispconfig StrikerNL General 2 5th March 2009 14:31
ISPConfig 3.0.0.6 Beta released till General 38 21st September 2008 19:15
SP-Server Setup - Ubuntu 5.10 "Breezy Badger" - Page 6 (changes) LuisC-SM HOWTO-Related Questions 0 21st April 2006 15:16


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.