Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st September 2011, 21:03
wake2010 wake2010 is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default apache2 throws up a few warns during restart (ISPConfig3)

Hey,
I am testing this script on a Home made Server.

All set up well, I managed to modify a DNS Record on my primary web host to redirect my subdomain local.xyz.tld and it works well I manage to get the default index page, However i noticed While using my Shell Access to restart the services Apache brings up the following:
Code:
[Thu Sep 01 19:55:23 2011] [warn] NameVirtualHost 192.168.0.200:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Thu Sep 01 19:55:23 2011] [warn] NameVirtualHost 192.168.0.200:443 has no VirtualHosts
 ... waiting [Thu Sep 01 19:55:24 2011] [warn] NameVirtualHost 192.168.0.200:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Thu Sep 01 19:55:24 2011] [warn] NameVirtualHost 192.168.0.200:443 has no VirtualHosts


My setup is as follows

My Server is setup via a router with DMZ enabled (for now) and my router IP is semi-static (only changes if i turn off my router which is never) so my server has a local STATIC IP as shown above.

also i can not access webmail when using outside the internal network.

Any Help would be massive!! thanks =]
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st September 2011, 22:21
mentes mentes is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Spain
Posts: 132
Thanks: 4
Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Don't worry. This is because you haven't created any site on this ip.

How do you try access to webmail? http://local.xyz.tld/webmail ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st September 2011, 22:22
wake2010 wake2010 is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well at first it was domain.com/webmail but with that not working i decided to try a mod to allow webmail.domain.com both fail
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st September 2011, 22:23
wake2010 wake2010 is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

also my ispconfig system messages log says "unable ro read /var/log/messages"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st September 2011, 22:33
mentes mentes is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Spain
Posts: 132
Thanks: 4
Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
Default

For webmail.domain.com you need create a subdomain and add A DNS record.

When you try to access to your webmail ...
... error.log shows something ?
... do you get some error in your browser?

Can you access from your internal network ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st September 2011, 22:46
wake2010 wake2010 is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
For webmail.domain.com you need create a subdomain and add A DNS record.
I did that from outset. I forgot to mention i had checked all DNS record as i run companies shared hosts dns records =]


Quote:
When you try to access to your webmail ...
... error.log shows something ?
where is that again? being a total *unix noob and used to cpanel...

Quote:
... do you get some error in your browser?
yes when i run via domain.com/webmail i get 404 as of writing i am restarting server

Quote:
Can you access from your internal network ?
i am accessing the server through http and by ssh on local network

im at a loss
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st September 2011, 22:56
wake2010 wake2010 is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok i realised what i did wrong i used a A record on my main host dns and not a ns record for the subdomain.

time to contact webhost :S any ideas of what domain registrars allow subdomain NS records if this goes bad?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1st September 2011, 22:59
mentes mentes is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Spain
Posts: 132
Thanks: 4
Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wake2010 View Post
being a total *unix noob and used to cpanel...
Well, then step by step.

In ssh console, type:

Code:
tail -f /var/www/yourdomain.com/log/error.log
"tail" reads the last lines of a file.

Then, try to access to domain.com/webmail and paste here the new lines you get.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 1st September 2011, 23:01
wake2010 wake2010 is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Code:
[Thu Sep 01 20:03:09 2011] [error] [client 192.168.0.254] File does not exist: /var/www/local.advancetechuk.com/web/webmail
[Thu Sep 01 21:23:34 2011] [error] [client 192.168.0.254] File does not exist: /var/www/local.advancetechuk.com/web/webmail
[Thu Sep 01 21:23:34 2011] [debug] mod_deflate.c(615): [client 192.168.0.254] Zlib: Compressed 1806 to 791 : URL /error/404.html
[Thu Sep 01 21:25:16 2011] [error] [client 192.168.0.254] File does not exist: /var/www/local.advancetechuk.com/web/webmail
[Thu Sep 01 21:25:16 2011] [debug] mod_deflate.c(615): [client 192.168.0.254] Zlib: Compressed 1806 to 791 : URL /error/404.html
[Thu Sep 01 21:25:16 2011] [error] [client 192.168.0.254] File does not exist: /var/www/local.advancetechuk.com/web/favicon.ico
[Thu Sep 01 21:25:16 2011] [debug] mod_deflate.c(615): [client 192.168.0.254] Zlib: Compressed 1806 to 791 : URL /error/404.html
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 1st September 2011, 23:04
mentes mentes is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Spain
Posts: 132
Thanks: 4
Thanked 15 Times in 13 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wake2010 View Post
ok i realised what i did wrong i used a A record on my main host dns and not a ns record for the subdomain.
You don't need NS record for subdomain like webmail.domain.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by wake2010 View Post
time to contact webhost :S any ideas of what domain registrars allow subdomain NS records if this goes bad?
Maybe is better you delegate DNS to ISPConfig.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig 3.0.1.4 causes Apache to have too many open files gkovacs Installation/Configuration 29 27th February 2013 08:59
Whole server went down wxman General 25 28th September 2012 18:32
yet another apache2 tuning thread Ovidiu Server Operation 65 5th July 2011 15:07
Some problems after upgrade OS lenny to squeeze matiasCU Installation/Configuration 3 31st May 2011 22:53
amavis rejects all inbound emails aclhkaclhk Installation/Configuration 5 28th February 2010 04:24


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.