Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 4th July 2006, 02:48
LeoLinux LeoLinux is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ellwangen
Posts: 119
Thanks: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to LeoLinux
Default Fehler 404 - Datei nicht gefunden

Hi,

I installed ISPconf after falkos HowTo successfully on a Ubuntu Breezy Badger.
The Server is behind a m0n0wall with a dyndns account and all necessary ports are forwarded.

Server info:
Code:
root@server1:~# ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:16:3E:1A:BE:50
          inet addr:192.168.1.101  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::216:3eff:fe1a:be50/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:1144 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1234 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:204186 (199.4 KiB)  TX bytes:1160831 (1.1 MiB)

lo        [...
                             ...]

root@server1:~# hostname -f
server1.pc1mail.de
root@server1:~# hostname
server1.pc1mail.de
root@server1:~#
^^http://pc1mail.de is forwarded to http://pc1service.gotdns.com

I logged in as admin an createt a customer account (filled in the basics and settet up an username and password)
after I saved this I created an web for the customer like you can see on the following screenshot:

http://hure.gotdns.com/ISPconf/Bildschirmphoto1.png

^^ admittedly I don't know what the www is standing for or what it means because my hostname isn't www?!
The secound thing is that my server's name is shown as "Server 1" on the screenshot above - is this correctly - I mean the space between server an the one?

After that I created a co-domain - but without much success because I don't know how to handle. I sadly couldn't understand the examples in the admin howto. but I tried ma luck anyway. You could see a screenshot of it below:
http://hure.gotdns.com/ISPconf/Bildschirmphoto4.png

http://hure.gotdns.com/ISPconf/Bildschirmphoto5.png
^^ could you tell me what "create dns and create mx is standing for? And in what way are they neccessary for creating a subdomain?

With the shown screenshot entries on the ISPconf I get allways ERROR 404 when I type http://pc1mail/web1
once it is in blue - powerd by ISPconf - and when I'm playing with the "create dns and dns mx" options it will be shown the same error 404 but not with the blue design.

if I left dns stuff empty and log in as the customer I can rech my ftp space via webftp but not from outside? How is the domain for it from ouside and why do I always get error 404?

On my server is nothing more or less installed than falko's howto is telling.

#######################################

my goal is it to create a subdomain for each web like web1.pc1mail.de and how to reach web space ftp from outside (but I think that's solved with the subdomains - am I right?)


Thanks for helping and describing! ;-)

best regards!
Leander

Last edited by LeoLinux; 5th July 2006 at 19:19.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 5th July 2006, 11:17
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

Please post in English. We don't answer posts in other languages.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th July 2006, 19:54
LeoLinux LeoLinux is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ellwangen
Posts: 119
Thanks: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to LeoLinux
Default

Hi,

Sorry - I have translate it.

Thanks,
Leo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th July 2006, 21:50
planet_fox planet_fox is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Munic
Posts: 308
Thanks: 14
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to planet_fox
Default

Host is www
and Hostname is pc1mail.de

Co musst set by hostname none

is for name server when you try on browser or other

www.pc1mail.de or http://pc1mail.de is the same

When you try on the basic ISP Web by

host none and save you, and ty www.pc1mail.de you come to
rootDoc from your server
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th July 2006, 14:06
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
 
Default

Is 195.20.225.111 your public IP address?
What's in Vhosts_ispconfig.conf?

Quote:
The secound thing is that my server's name is shown as "Server 1" on the screenshot above - is this correctly - I mean the space between server an the one?
That's the server name you enter under Management -> Server -> Settings -> Server -> Server Name. It has nothing to do with the hostname of the server, it's just a string so that you know which server it is.

Quote:
if I left dns stuff empty and log in as the customer I can rech my ftp space via webftp but not from outside? How is the domain for it from ouside and why do I always get error 404?
Did you forward port 21 from your router to your ISPConfig server? Have you tried both active and passive transfers in your FTP client?
You can use any FQDN that points to your router's public IP address. You can also use the router's public IP address.

The "Default DNS" and Default MX" checkboxes let you create standard DNS records for your domain, but it makes sense only if your ISPConfig server is the authoritative name server for your domain. Most likely this is not the case, so you don't need to check them.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing 2.2.1 and stopped with errors djtremors Installation/Configuration 9 26th April 2006 23:03
Break during installation TobiasTM Installation/Configuration 4 13th April 2006 15:56
Install ERROR Fedora 3 need re2c 0.9.1??? byt3 Installation/Configuration 1 31st March 2006 19:04
installation fails olaus Installation/Configuration 4 11th March 2006 00:47
Installation Fails... :( cyberstorm Installation/Configuration 1 15th January 2006 19:07


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.