Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18th June 2011, 15:46
samir12 samir12 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Setting up a new Mailserver

Hello there ,
given a task to set up a new mail server in our small company ,

we already have existing emails hosted by our ISP provider but we want to get rid of it as soon as our new mail server is up and running ,

i went thru ubuntu10.10 tutorial
and i have a couples of questions before installing the mai server
we already have our web server hosted by a 3rd party www.airworldtours.com
is this domain what i should use instead of example.com ??

also server1.example.com wil replaced by mail.airworldtours.com

please bear with me as i'm totlay new to linux

and thanks in advance

is there any set up that need to be done to my router i have a static ip adress
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 19th June 2011, 21:08
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Yes, you can use airworldtours.com instead of example.com. Make sure you use a hostname that you don't use for email addresses (such as server1.airworldtours.com).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st June 2011, 22:59
samir12 samir12 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thank
I finished the mail server using your guides thanks a lot
but i have 2 issues I only can access phpmyadmin using my local network ip adress
http://10.191.11.110/phpmyadmin
but i cant acess it using my host name hattp://mail.airworldtours.com/phpmyadmin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd June 2011, 13:29
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Did you create a vhost for mail.airworldtours.com, or does that address go to the same vhost that is used when you use 10.191.11.110?
If you created a vhost for mail.airworldtours.com, you must install phpMyAdmin in that vhost (or create a symlink to an existing phpMyAdmin installation; make sure that symlinks are allowed in your vhost configuration).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
samir12 (22nd June 2011)
  #5  
Old 22nd June 2011, 18:29
samir12 samir12 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello Falko
and thanks for your prompt reply

i followed exactly the instructions on the how to :

this my network interfaces setting :
vi /etc/network/interfaces
# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 10.191.11.110
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 10.191.11.0
broadcast 10.191.11.255
gateway 10.191.11.126
# dns-* options are implemented by the resolvconf package, if installed
dns-nameservers 10.191.11.126
dns-search airworldtour.com
and my vi /etc/hosts


127.0.0.1 localhost.localdoamin localhost
10.191.11.110 mail.airworldtour.com mail

# The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
::1 localhost ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
fe00::0 ip6-localnet
ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
ff02::2 ip6-allrouters


i reckon this server will only work on internal network , my ISP provide me with a static ip adress should i put that instead of 10.191.11.110

thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd June 2011, 19:22
samir12 samir12 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ive fixed this issue
but still my server only working on local network , i cant reach it from the internet
any suggestion cheers
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23rd June 2011, 16:11
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

Please check your router settings. You must forward all needed ports from your router to your server.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disappearing emails ispconfig 2 / postfix DrJohn General 2 14th May 2010 17:21
Some errors after using iRedMail to setup mail server DaaX HOWTO-Related Questions 1 21st January 2010 15:27
How to install OpenOficeOrg 3.0.0 in Ubuntu 8.04 ernesthagger HOWTO-Related Questions 43 23rd December 2008 14:42
Virtual users... Ubuntu 8.04 spaceuser HOWTO-Related Questions 12 19th June 2008 08:04
Help. Apache don't start payne Server Operation 3 17th August 2007 15:57


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.