Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd June 2014, 02:28
PatrickDickey PatrickDickey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to PatrickDickey Send a message via Yahoo to PatrickDickey Send a message via Skype™ to PatrickDickey
Default Need some help configuring Postfix with a FreeDNS domain name

Hi everyone,

I have postfix set up on an Amahi Home Server, which relays mail from root through my gmail account to me (sends me logwatch messages and other messages from the server). I set up a domain at FreeDNS, and want to add that to my postfix setup.

In the interest of full disclosure, for now I only need this so I can receive an email from he.net for their certification. At this time, I'll only be sending emails from the server, and probably only from the root account. After I get through their certification process, I may switch back to my current setup, and drop the FreeDNS domain altogether--or I may decide to use it for one of my mail accounts.

One issue that I have is that my server's hostname is localhost.localdomain (required by Amahi), and it's friendly name is hda.local.lan (how I reach it in my LAN) or hda.

I've looked at some of the tutorials on here, about how to set up postfix, but I don't think any of them really apply to me. I don't need Courier (at least I don't think I do), and I don't need Quota. The server is a Fedora 19 x86_64 system, running Amahi 7. What I need is the most basic (secure) setup that will send/receive mail over both IPv4 and IPv6.

I'm attaching my current main.cf as main-cf.txt, to make it easier to configure. The domain that I'm going to use is mail.patscompservices.mooo.com (actual domain is patscompservices.mooo.com, but I'm assuming I'll have to create the mail. version for the MX record).

As for the relay information at the bottom, I'll probably just comment it all out. That way it's there, if I choose to go back to it. Unless I can leave it in, and use it for sending the logwatch and other system messages out.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Have a great day.
Patrick.

P.S. At the most, I'd like to be able to send mail from my local network only. NOTHING outside of my router. After I've got it set up, I'll look at the Hardening Postfix for ISPConfig 3, AVG Antivirus and maybe the Securing your ISPConfig 3 installation with SSL tutorials.
Attached Files
File Type: txt main-cf.txt (28.3 KB, 17 views)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th June 2014, 02:14
PatrickDickey PatrickDickey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to PatrickDickey Send a message via Yahoo to PatrickDickey Send a message via Skype™ to PatrickDickey
Default

I'm posting this as a reply so it doesn't get lost in my original post. From some of the things I'm reading, it seems like all I need to do is this:

Modify my /etc/hosts file and add entries for my IP Address with mail.patscompservices.mooo.com mailserver

Specify mail.patscompservices.mooo.com as myhost, and patscompservices.mooo.com as mydomain in main.cf

Then even though "hostname" shows localhost.localdomain as my hostname, everything should be right with the mailserver.

If this is correct, my questions are in /etc/hosts, do I need to make two entries? One for the IPv4 address (192.168.2.99) and one for my IPv6 address? And if so, do I use the exact same information on both entries?

Have a great day.
Patrick.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th June 2014, 08:40
srijan srijan is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: New Delhi, India
Posts: 604
Thanks: 4
Thanked 80 Times in 77 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to srijan
 
Default

Quote:
If this is correct, my questions are in /etc/hosts, do I need to make two entries? One for the IPv4 address (192.168.2.99) and one for my IPv6 address? And if so, do I use the exact same information on both entries?
Yes you can use /etc/hosts for that.
__________________
Br//
Srijan
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Postfix Timeout after DATA from some emails treeman Server Operation 13 25th September 2013 12:51
How cai remove amavis from postfix ? gabrix Server Operation 16 2nd October 2012 09:58
Email being accepted but not delivered punto Installation/Configuration 8 25th May 2011 00:13
CGI and FormMail Cracklefish Installation/Configuration 17 13th October 2009 13:40
Mail System Error - Returned Mail tristanlee85 General 16 16th March 2008 09:40


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.