Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 16th June 2011, 20:25
waffo waffo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Arrow DNS-server offline after installing ISPConfig3

Hi,

I just finished installing ISPConfig 3 using the The Perfect Server - Fedora 15 [ISPConfig3] tutorial.

But in the monitor at ISPConfig3, its showing 1 error - DNS server OFFLINE.

How do I fix it?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 17th June 2011, 09:51
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,778
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,333 Times in 4,184 Posts
Default

The dns will start working when you add the first dns zone.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st June 2011, 19:19
waffo waffo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So I have the following information:

an IP address - that I used while setting up the webserver
a subnet mask - that I used while setting up the webserver
Default Gateway - that I used while setting up the webserver
Pref DNS - that I used while setting up the webserver
Alt DNS - that I used while setting up the webserver

- I followed only the steps from The perfect server - fedora 15 [ISPConfig 3] tutorial.

I am only a beginner at Unix and had never set up a server/website before.

Setting up a DNS Zone asked for the following:

Server - i guess i put the name of my server over here?
Client - I have set up a client
Domain - I dont know what to use here
IP Address - I dont know what to use here
NS 1 - I dont know what to use here
NS 2 - I dont know what to use here
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st June 2011, 19:26
waffo waffo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
The dns will start working when you add the first dns zone.
I was going through the forum when the DNS wasn't working as it was showing offline, and everywhere people were talking about myDNS.

The Perfect Server - Fedora 15 [ISPConfig3] didn't have a myDNS section. Therefore, I followed the myDNS section of Fedora 10 [ISPConfig3], which is the following:
18 Install MyDNS

We can install MyDNS as follows:

wget http://mydns.bboy.net/download/mydns...1.0-1.i386.rpm
rpm -ivh mydns-mysql-1.1.0-1.i386.rpm

When the system boots, MyDNS must be started after MySQL. The MySQL startup link has the priority 64 on Fedora 10, so the MyDNS startup link must have a priority between 65 and 99. Therefore we open the MyDNS init script...

vi /etc/init.d/mydns

... and change

[...]
# chkconfig: 345 52 50
[...]

to

[...]
# chkconfig: 345 65 50
[...]

Then we create the startup links:

chkconfig --levels 235 mydns on

We don't start MyDNS now because it must be configured first - this will be done automatically by the ISPConfig 3 installer later on.



And it worked, now its showing online. But I haven't/couldn't set up a DNS zone yet. Did I do anything wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd June 2011, 11:41
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,778
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,333 Times in 4,184 Posts
Default

Please dont install mydns because your setup uses bind. mydns is not used in new ispconfig setups anymore.

The solution for your problem was to add a new dns zone in the dns module of the ispconfig 3 interface. To create a new dns zone, just enter the details for the zone like domain name, ip address and the primary and secondary dns server of that domain.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd June 2011, 19:40
waffo waffo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Please dont install mydns because your setup uses bind. mydns is not used in new ispconfig setups anymore.

The solution for your problem was to add a new dns zone in the dns module of the ispconfig 3 interface. To create a new dns zone, just enter the details for the zone like domain name, ip address and the primary and secondary dns server of that domain.

Can I use the same IP address that I used while setting up the webserver? Because the sites are going to be in an Intranet.
And I only have the ip addresses of the primary & secondary DNS servers, what should I put as their name?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23rd June 2011, 10:17
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,778
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,333 Times in 4,184 Posts
 
Default

So basically you dont need any dns? Then there is no need to create a record, just let it as it is.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
dns-server, fedora 15, ispconfig 3, offline

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig3 mail doesn't work pehden Installation/Configuration 20 9th December 2013 14:05
ISPConfig3 OK - Using DNS server to server local LAN MrCompTech Tips/Tricks/Mods 9 1st October 2010 18:54
Can't Ping over VPN RoMiONeT Server Operation 2 4th July 2010 00:19
I don't recieve mail. privir Installation/Configuration 2 3rd June 2009 22:08
Webmail Relay Error palkat General 17 23rd April 2006 18:12


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.