Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11th September 2005, 11:43
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default Domain issues

Ok what I have done is pointed portal.xxxxxx.co.uk to xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx (my web server) from my current ISP/Domain Host. How do I point this portal address to go to the ISPConfig page on my server.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11th September 2005, 14:14
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mphayesuk
Ok what I have done is pointed portal.xxxxxx.co.uk to xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx (my web server) from my current ISP/Domain Host. How do I point this portal address to go to the ISPConfig page on my server.

Thanks
Have you created a new client in ISPConfig and then a new website with the host: portal and the domain: xxxxxx.co.uk ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th September 2005, 11:19
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default Create Site for portal

No but I will when I get back on the server. What do I do when I have created a new site for portal.xxxxx.co.uk and created all the web folders.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th September 2005, 00:45
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default

Ok I have created a site for the portal.xxx.co.uk

Now what do I do???
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th September 2005, 03:32
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

You have to create a DNS record (A Record) for portal.xxx.co.uk that points to the IP address of your ISPConfig server.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14th September 2005, 10:52
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default

Is that a DNS record created using ISPConfig. Can that DNS record also point to a port number.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14th September 2005, 11:04
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mphayesuk
Is that a DNS record created using ISPConfig.
If your ISPConfig machine is authoritative for your domain, then yes. If someone else manages your DNS records, then you have to tell him to do this, and if you've bought managed DNS services, then there should be some kind of web interface where you can create your A Record.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mphayesuk
Can that DNS record also point to a port number.
No.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14th September 2005, 11:20
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default

Ok portal.xxx.xo.uk is pointed to my ISPConfig server.(DNS A Records at my ISP)

There is a site on ISPConfig for portal.xxx.xo.uk

So how do I make the portal address go to the ISPConfig config pages that are on https://xx.xx.xx.xx:81

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14th September 2005, 17:37
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default

Hi can someone help with this... its the last piece of the puzzel for me I hope.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14th September 2005, 17:52
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mphayesuk
Ok portal.xxx.xo.uk is pointed to my ISPConfig server.(DNS A Records at my ISP)

There is a site on ISPConfig for portal.xxx.xo.uk

So how do I make the portal address go to the ISPConfig config pages that are on https://xx.xx.xx.xx:81

Thanks
You must create an A Record for portal.xxx.xo.uk that points to your IP address
xx.xx.xx.xx. Afterwards you can use your domain portal.xxx.xo.uk to access ISPConfig: https://portal.xxx.xo.uk:81
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This forum is for general Linux installation/configuration issues, not for ISPConfig! falko Installation/Configuration 29 24th March 2014 16:55
Samba as domain controller alex Suggest HOWTO 13 12th December 2005 15:00
choose domain for new emailadresse not possible fuban General 4 5th September 2005 11:11
Bind stops and cannot be restarted after a slave domain is added jason Installation/Configuration 20 19th August 2005 09:16
domain name change thedude General 2 15th August 2005 22:44


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.