Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29th April 2011, 17:17
CD_PlaYeR CD_PlaYeR is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ispconfig3 debian squeeze index.html from apache2

Hi!
've followed this tutorial http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-se...ispconfig-3-p6
when i type 192.168.1.100, i get the apache2 index.html instead of ispconfig 3 one,
i tried to look with dnssy.com at example.com and it cannot find ns.example.com
when i do dig ns1.example.com i get no answer. the server is accessible via my lan by another computer when i type 192.168.1.100 but not when i type www.example.com or example.com

Last edited by CD_PlaYeR; 30th April 2011 at 00:22.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 30th April 2011, 13:55
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CD_PlaYeR View Post
when i type 192.168.1.100, i get the apache2 index.html instead of ispconfig 3 one,
ISPConfig configures name-based vhosts which means you cannot use an IP address. You must always use a domain.


Quote:
Originally Posted by CD_PlaYeR View Post
i tried to look with dnssy.com at example.com and it cannot find ns.example.com
when i do dig ns1.example.com i get no answer. the server is accessible via my lan by another computer when i type 192.168.1.100 but not when i type www.example.com or example.com
Does example.com point to your router's public IP? Does your router forward port 80 to your ISPConfig server?

If the answer to both questions is yes, but it still doesn't work, chances are that your ISP blocks port 80 or that your router doesn't support loopbacks.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th April 2011, 16:04
CD_PlaYeR CD_PlaYeR is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

sorry maybe my explanation wasn't pretty good.

my isp doesn't block port 80, that i am sure of, i already made a server running on this router and the port forwarding are set to forward port 80 to my server, the problem is that usually when you install ispconfig3 and you type 192.168.1.100 the index.html isn't suppose to be the one from apache but the welcome from ispconfig3, in my case it is the It works! from apache. when i try domain.com i get a page server not found. ispconfig doesn't seems to link to apache2.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st May 2011, 01:27
erosbk erosbk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 337
Thanks: 49
Thanked 36 Times in 30 Posts
Default

As I am seeing right now on my installation, the default page of apache2 with ISPConfig3 is from Apache2, not from ISPConfig3.

Only vhost has the pages of ISPConfig3 as I can see
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to erosbk For This Useful Post:
CD_PlaYeR (2nd May 2011)
  #5  
Old 1st May 2011, 21:41
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CD_PlaYeR View Post
sorry maybe my explanation wasn't pretty good.

my isp doesn't block port 80, that i am sure of, i already made a server running on this router and the port forwarding are set to forward port 80 to my server, the problem is that usually when you install ispconfig3 and you type 192.168.1.100 the index.html isn't suppose to be the one from apache but the welcome from ispconfig3, in my case it is the It works! from apache. when i try domain.com i get a page server not found. ispconfig doesn't seems to link to apache2.
You cannot use IP addresses because ISPConfig configure name-based vhosts. Either create/modify the DNS records for your domains so that they point to the correct server, or (for testing purposes) modify the hosts file of your client PC: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...s+file+windows
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
CD_PlaYeR (2nd May 2011)
  #6  
Old 2nd May 2011, 00:31
CD_PlaYeR CD_PlaYeR is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 16
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Thanks!! you are right about ispconfig3 and IP address, and also with port forwarding!!!
i feel kinda stupid but i should have doubt that the DMZ of my old linksys was to crash and forward anything anywhere........ what are the port range i should forward for now i use 0-1000
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
apache2, debian squeeze, ispconfig3

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading an ISPConfig3 server from Debian Lenny to Squeeze Hans Installation/Configuration 8 7th February 2011 22:22
amavis rejects all inbound emails aclhkaclhk Installation/Configuration 5 28th February 2010 04:24
[debian 5 + ispconfig 3] Unable to send mail tanakskool HOWTO-Related Questions 6 4th November 2009 18:20
Bind Failed christoph2k HOWTO-Related Questions 4 28th April 2007 00:57
e-mail problem!!! Debian 3.1 maroonworks Installation/Configuration 18 6th December 2005 14:42


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.