Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30th June 2006, 00:45
willebanks willebanks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: connecticut
Posts: 75
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Am I stupid or what?

Hi all,

Well I have everything setup (ISPConfig)...It all seems to be working! Mail is sending and receiving! Yea!
I have purchased a new Domain name and a web page template that I want to customize! And I'm ready to begin. I just can't seem to make heads or tails of the Documentation.

I have logged on and changed the Admin password...I just can't figure out what to do next! Do I have to create a reseller account before I create a customer account and is a customer account what I need to start? I just want to be able to "host" a website for my son's band and maybe a few "test" sites for myself until I feel comfortable with how everything works.

All of the tutorials only seem to get me where I am now..With ISPConfig up and running! I am sorry, I really hate to ask for more help...everyone has been great helping me get Postfix running... I just need a push in the right direction!

Thanks everyone for all the help, now and into the future!

Will Banks

Jeeze, I can build a computer with my eyes closed( and it even works!)...why can't I get this?

Last edited by willebanks; 30th June 2006 at 00:47.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 30th June 2006, 00:55
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by willebanks
I have logged on and changed the Admin password...I just can't figure out what to do next! Do I have to create a reseller account before I create a customer account and is a customer account what I need to start? I just want to be able to "host" a website for my son's band and maybe a few "test" sites for myself until I feel comfortable with how everything works.
You need to create a customer, and under that customer you can create your web site.
It's up to you if you want to create the customer under the admin group or under a reseller (in that case you'd have to create a reseller first).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th June 2006, 04:04
willebanks willebanks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: connecticut
Posts: 75
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Wow again Falko is the man!

I do have one question...why are all the email address proceeded by web1_ ! Is there a way to change this?

Thanks again...I'm sure that I'll have more questions but at least now I'm going in the right direction!

Will Banks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th June 2006, 11:33
SupuS SupuS is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 202
Thanks: 68
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by willebanks
Wow again Falko is the man!

I do have one question...why are all the email address proceeded by web1_ ! Is there a way to change this?

Thanks again...I'm sure that I'll have more questions but at least now I'm going in the right direction!

Will Banks
Try Management => System Config => Setting => ISP Manager => User Prefix
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th June 2006, 16:51
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default

The email address prefix is only for logging into the mail account by changing the prefix so that you dont get anything before the mail name as Supus suggested (instructions only not what to change to) you will only be able to have one username.

Thats not very clear is it.....

ok you can have jbloggs@mynewdomain.com so if you leave the prefix as is the username for logging onto the mail is web1_jbloggs.

But if you take away all prefixes you can only have one jbloggs no matter how many domain names you have.

So if you have 100 customers there can only ever be one jbloggs with no prefix, so you will be limiting the email addresses you can have spread across your customers.

This may all be wrong but I am sure its how the system works.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st July 2006, 13:22
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by willebanks
I do have one question...why are all the email address proceeded by web1_ ! Is there a way to change this?
Have a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/faq/14_47_en.html
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stupid phpmyadmin error: Hostname empty jokobe Installation/Configuration 1 8th March 2006 21:33


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.