Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd April 2011, 21:44
newbie14 newbie14 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How to capture error if cron is not running ?

Dear All,
I have a cron job set like this */6 * * * /usr/local/sendClient/runClient.sh>/usr/local/sendClient/cron1.log . The problem I found my cron is not running and I dont know where to get the error why this cron is not running. I have check var/log/cron no error in there too. But when I run my java file which is set to in the runClient.sh it show me the error. How capture the errors? Thank you.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th April 2011, 11:50
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

Does it work when you run the script manually?

Can you post the script? Do you use a PATH variable in it, or do you use absolute paths?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th April 2011, 13:23
newbie14 newbie14 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Dear Falko,
Here is my script. Yes manually the script run but now the remote listerning server is down so that is the error which I would like to capture so when I run it manually it can see the error.

Quote:
#!/bin/bash
JavaHome=/usr/java/jdk1.6.0_21/bin
cd /usr/local/sendClient
$JavaHome/java basicClient
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th April 2011, 22:17
newbie14 newbie14 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Dear Falko,
Any idea how to capture it? Thank you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cron jobs not running IrDA Installation/Configuration 8 18th November 2011 15:17
Fedora 4 TPS mail problem Hagforce HOWTO-Related Questions 13 10th February 2010 19:23
High on Lenny - Lvm Mount Problem Serverman Technical 1 23rd June 2009 17:26
webalizer cron job not running bolero Installation/Configuration 2 2nd June 2009 14:09
user deleted but user cron still running bas1968 General 1 13th February 2009 12:59


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.