Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29th June 2006, 04:45
bmayock bmayock is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: honolulu
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default quota question on perfect install fedora core 5.0

hello,

trying to get a fileserver up and running although when i do "yum install quota" it doesn't seem to install. do i need to install the quota package? if so where? i thought i installed the quota package by going to applications->add/remove software it even says that the i386 package is installed. any help would be appreciated thank you. note my errors below when i try to run quotacheck -avugm and quotaon -avug. i am in super user mode too.

Brian

[kyd@localhost ~]$ su
Password:
[root@localhost kyd]# yum install quota
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Install Process
Setting up repositories
core [1/3]
extras [2/3]
updates [3/3]
Reading repository metadata in from local files
Parsing package install arguments
Nothing to do
[root@localhost kyd]# touch /aquota.user /aquota.group
[root@localhost kyd]# chmod 600 /aquota.*
[root@localhost kyd]# mount -o remount /
[root@localhost kyd]# quotacheck -avugm
bash: quotacheck: command not found
[root@localhost kyd]# quotaon -avug
bash: quotaon: command not found
[root@localhost kyd]#
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 29th June 2006, 13:59
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmayock
[root@localhost kyd]# yum install quota
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Install Process
Setting up repositories
core [1/3]
extras [2/3]
updates [3/3]
Reading repository metadata in from local files
Parsing package install arguments
Nothing to do
quota is already installed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmayock
[root@localhost kyd]# quotacheck -avugm
bash: quotacheck: command not found
[root@localhost kyd]# quotaon -avug
bash: quotaon: command not found
[root@localhost kyd]#
What's the output of
Code:
updatedb
locate quotacheck
locate quotaon
?
What's the output of
Code:
echo $PATH
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th June 2006, 22:25
bmayock bmayock is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: honolulu
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default umm

Hello Falko,

here is the output you requested. how do you uncompress the .gz file? is it just
tar -xvvzf quotacheck.8.gz? do i have to be in that directory?

[root@localhost kyd]# updatedb
[root@localhost kyd]# locate quotacheck
/sbin/quotacheck
/usr/share/man/man8/quotacheck.8.gz
[root@localhost kyd]# locate quotaon
/sbin/quotaon
/usr/share/man/man8/quotaon.8.gz
[root@localhost kyd]# echo $PATH
/usr/kerberos/sbin:/usr/kerberos/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/home/kyd/bin
[root@localhost kyd]#
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th June 2006, 23:51
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmayock
how do you uncompress the .gz file? is it just
tar -xvvzf quotacheck.8.gz? do i have to be in that directory?
Don't uncompress it, it's just the man page.

quotacheck and quotaon exist on your system, they are in /sbin, but /sbin is not in your PATH.

What's in /etc/profiles?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th June 2006, 02:32
bmayock bmayock is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: honolulu
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hello Falko,

thanks for the help. below is the output you requested of etc/profile
i also found a profile.d directory did you want the contents of that as well?

# /etc/profile

# System wide environment and startup programs, for login setup
# Functions and aliases go in /etc/bashrc

pathmunge () {
if ! echo $PATH | /bin/egrep -q "(^|$1($|" ; then
if [ "$2" = "after" ] ; then
PATH=$PATH:$1
else
PATH=$1:$PATH
fi
fi
}

# ksh workaround
if [ -z "$EUID" -a -x /usr/bin/id ]; then
EUID=`id -u`
UID=`id -ru`
fi

# Path manipulation
if [ "$EUID" = "0" ]; then
pathmunge /sbin
pathmunge /usr/sbin
pathmunge /usr/local/sbin
fi

# No core files by default
ulimit -S -c 0 > /dev/null 2>&1

if [ -x /usr/bin/id ]; then
USER="`id -un`"
LOGNAME=$USER
MAIL="/var/spool/mail/$USER"
fi

HOSTNAME=`/bin/hostname`
HISTSIZE=1000

if [ -z "$INPUTRC" -a ! -f "$HOME/.inputrc" ]; then
INPUTRC=/etc/inputrc
fi

export PATH USER LOGNAME MAIL HOSTNAME HISTSIZE INPUTRC

for i in /etc/profile.d/*.sh ; do
if [ -r "$i" ]; then
. $i
fi
done

unset i
unset pathmunge
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st July 2006, 12:19
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Change
Code:
export PATH USER LOGNAME MAIL HOSTNAME HISTSIZE INPUTRC
to

Code:
PATH=${PATH}:/sbin
export PATH USER LOGNAME MAIL HOSTNAME HISTSIZE INPUTRC
in /etc/profile. The log out and log in again, and
Code:
which quotacheck
and
Code:
which quotaon
should show results.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th July 2006, 23:19
bmayock bmayock is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: honolulu
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default no dice

hello Falko,

thanx for the help. still getting "command not found"

[root@localhost etc]# which quotacheck
/usr/bin/which: no quotacheck in
(/usr/kerberos/sbin:/usr/kerberos/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/home/kyd/bin)
[root@localhost etc]# which quotaon
/usr/bin/which: no quotaon in (/usr/kerberos/sbin:/usr/kerberos/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/home/kyd/bin)
[root@localhost etc]# touch /aquota.user /aquota.group
[root@localhost etc]# chmod 600 /aquota.*
[root@localhost etc]# mount -o remount /
[root@localhost etc]# quotacheck -avugm
bash: quotacheck: command not found
[root@localhost etc]# quotaon -avug
bash: quotaon: command not found
[root@localhost etc]#
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th July 2006, 13:20
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
 
Default

Then run
Code:
/sbin/quotacheck -avugm
/sbin/quotaon -avug
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to perfect install SNMP and MRTG in Fedora Core 3??? fandi2000x Installation/Configuration 5 5th July 2006 21:48
Regarding the Fedora Core 5 Perfect Install - Quota EricS HOWTO-Related Questions 4 30th May 2006 04:21
Fedora Core 5 x64 Perfect Install Question? gjcomputer Installation/Configuration 1 26th April 2006 09:27
Perfect Fedora Core 4 install (GPG key errors) linuxfast HOWTO-Related Questions 2 16th September 2005 19:54
Quota: Perfect Setup Fedora Core 4 domino Installation/Configuration 7 20th August 2005 17:42


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.