#1  
Old 4th April 2011, 03:44
vwpete vwpete is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 18
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default alias domains

Hello,
I have a quick question with regard to alias domains
I have followed the example in http://docs.ispconfig.org/creating-w...s-web-domains/
I am just wondering if it is working correctly for me
I have say domain.com as my parent domain and I make domain.co.uk as an alias web domain
I select redirect type “no redirect”
Auto subdomain “*.”
And select active
What I am finding is that my website is now shown with either domain. If I type in
http://www.domain.co.uk the website shows with this address it does not redirect and change the address to http://www.domain.com
I have also tried using redirect type “R” but it does not make any difference
So to make domain.co.uk actually redirect to domain.com “change the url”do I have to create a domain.co.uk website and stick a .htaccess file in it or is the alias function not working correctly for me?
cheers
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th April 2011, 10:51
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,769
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,609 Times in 4,420 Posts
Default

Quote:
What I am finding is that my website is now shown with either domain.
Then its working correctly as a aliasdomain in apache is used to show the same website content from more then one domain.

Quote:
So to make domain.co.uk actually redirect to domain.com “change the url”do I have to create a domain.co.uk website and stick a .htaccess file in it or is the alias function not working correctly for me?
You can do this with the aliasdomain finction as well. Simply enter "http://domain.com" into the redirect path field and select "no flag" as redirect type.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th April 2011, 13:23
vwpete vwpete is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 18
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
So to make domain.co.uk actually redirect to domain.com “change the url”do I have to create a domain.co.uk website and stick a .htaccess file in it or is the alias function not working correctly for me?
You can do this with the aliasdomain finction as well. Simply enter "http://domain.com" into the redirect path field and select "no flag" as redirect type.
Thanx for the quick response, this did not work for me, anyways i took the hint and downloaded the manual, lots of good info in there, but still did not really help me with this issue.
Just out of desperation I decided to change the auto subdomain from “*.” To “www” and hoora all working
thanx
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Postfix delivery problem erebus Installation/Configuration 8 29th July 2014 21:17
Exim Gateway with mailwatch (Unable to receive emails) siul0_0 HOWTO-Related Questions 10 9th May 2009 00:00
post fix error after a year aberrio Server Operation 5 5th May 2009 22:33
postfix domains alias alxgomz Installation/Configuration 0 5th March 2007 13:53
Global alias for postfix virtual domains. triak HOWTO-Related Questions 3 17th January 2007 10:31


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.