Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 31st March 2011, 11:36
pawan pawan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 222
Thanks: 44
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default how to create CName record?

I have created a Cname record in ISPCONFIG3 dns like this in test domain


record type CName
Name - cdn
data - testdomainalias.cdn.com

but when querying dns record using dig, no CName record is showing up for the testdomain.

I have used all combinations, but none worked.

dig any testdomain.com
dig cname testdomain.com

dig @localhost any testdomain.com
dig @localhost cname testdomain.com

please note that I am getting answers for other records like A records, mx records, txt records. etc.

Please help I must be missing something.

Regards
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 31st March 2011, 12:35
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

You missed to add the dot at the end of testdomainalias.cdn.com. It has to be:

testdomainalias.cdn.com.

and not

testdomainalias.cdn.com
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31st March 2011, 18:03
pawan pawan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 222
Thanks: 44
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
You missed to add the dot at the end of testdomainalias.cdn.com. It has to be:

testdomainalias.cdn.com.

and not

testdomainalias.cdn.com
I am sorry to leave the dot in my post. but I have included dot as mentioned by you i.e. I have created the dns record as testdomainalias.cdn.com. still I am facing the the problem.

However I have not included the dot in the name part that is it is kept as cdn and not cdn. but the data field is testdomainalias.cdn.com.

What else could be wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31st March 2011, 20:39
pawan pawan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 222
Thanks: 44
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
 
Default

Solved
I am really sorry.
The problem was my quering the DNS.

instead of querying testdomain.com I should have queried cdn.testdomain.com to get the correct answer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Postfix delivery problem erebus Installation/Configuration 8 29th July 2014 21:17
E-mail server receive and send spams Mole Installation/Configuration 12 19th April 2010 12:03
post fix error after a year aberrio Server Operation 5 5th May 2009 22:33
Verify email setup meekish Installation/Configuration 28 27th October 2006 16:36
There is already a CNAME Record entry for this host in this zone. woleium General 1 24th October 2006 11:12


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.