Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd March 2011, 06:19
otacon otacon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 109
Thanks: 5
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default Websites and subdomains

I just want to know if this is normal or what.

in my /var/www/ I see my first website remcycle.net.

I did this a long time ago, so I am not sure if this is normal or not.. I created a new website isthatconstitutional.com, but it is not in the www folder. It says in the that it is hosted in web9 of client0.

I go to clients/client0 and there are only two folders "remcycle.net" "web2".

Where would new websites be added?

I tried to do a sub domain of remcycle.net and can't find where that is hosted either...


I added test.remcycle.net to my subdomains. This seems to make /var/www the root as I can go to test.remcycle.net/ispconfig and get to the control panel.

Is this normal and I am just doing everything wrong, or could my installation be corrupt in some way?

ispconfig 3.0.3.1
__________________
Debian 7.4 Server:
ISPConfig Version: 3.0.5.3

Please visit my Mini-howto, "How To Create Remote API Scripts For ISPConfig 3"
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 23rd March 2011, 10:39
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Thats all ok, you mix up directories and symlinks. Also subdomains are vhost aliases and not vhosts.

All websites are created in /var/www/clients/client[ID]/web[ID]. Then there are some symlinks for easier shell navigation, e.g. a symlink in /var/www/. Subdomains are vhost aliases, they dont have its own directory. If a subdomain shall have its own directory, then you create a new website for it. Thats explained in detail in the manual.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th March 2011, 03:15
otacon otacon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 109
Thanks: 5
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Yeah... I understand now. So in order for test.remcycle.net to have it's own /var/www/clients/client[id]/web[id] I need to make a website and not a subdomain for remcycle.net.


.... So I created a website called test.remcycle.net and it is suppose to be the id = 10 from client 0. I am still not seeing /var/www/clients/client0/web10. I only see remcycle.net and web2 (one is a symlink to the other). I have also created isthatconstitutional.com and isthatconstitutional.us, but they also are not in the clients folder. I think ispconfig is not creating the vhosts like it should.



server1:/etc/apache2/sites-available# ls
apps.vhost default-ssl ispconfig.vhost ssl
default ispconfig.conf remcycle.net.vhost


Should the vhost for test.remcycle.net, isthatconstitutional.com, and isthatconstitutional.us be in the above folder?


Searched for the vhost and none was found


server1:/etc/apache2/sites-available# find / -name test.remcycle.net.vhost
server1:/etc/apache2/sites-available# find / -name isthatconstitutional.us.vhost
__________________
Debian 7.4 Server:
ISPConfig Version: 3.0.5.3

Please visit my Mini-howto, "How To Create Remote API Scripts For ISPConfig 3"

Last edited by otacon; 24th March 2011 at 03:22.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th March 2011, 13:01
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

It takes some time until the folders get created. You can check that in the jobqueue of the monitor. All pending jobs are listed there.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th March 2011, 14:39
otacon otacon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 109
Thanks: 5
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

oh no I five pages of stuff in my job queue... not good.


First entry is "2010-11-10 00:42 server1.remcycle.net Insert mail_user"


-that is probably when I was testing my api and couldn't get it to work.


It doesn't give me an error in the job queue, but I will look in the other logs.
__________________
Debian 7.4 Server:
ISPConfig Version: 3.0.5.3

Please visit my Mini-howto, "How To Create Remote API Scripts For ISPConfig 3"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th March 2011, 15:10
otacon otacon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 109
Thanks: 5
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

I enabled Debugging and found out that there is a locked file.


I then changed the name of /usr/local/ispconfig/server/temp/.ispconfig_lock to /usr/local/ispconfig/server/temp/.ispconfig_lock.old, so it could create a new one.


Seems to be working so far as it is working its way through the 180 changes... this may take a while.


-----------------------


After a while I keep getting the message that my file is lock.

I delete the locked file, but it just comes back.

Tried to do it manually and I get this


server1:~# /usr/local/ispconfig/server/server.sh/usr/bin/fail2ban-client
rm: cannot remove `/tmp/ISPConfig-3.0.3.2.tar.gz': No such file or directory
rm: cannot remove `/tmp/ispconfig3_install': No such file or directory
--2011-03-24 09:25:55-- http://www.ispconfig.org/downloads/I...3.0.3.2.tar.gz
Resolving www.ispconfig.org... 78.46.59.59
Connecting to www.ispconfig.org|78.46.59.59|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 3023700 (2.9M) [application/x-gzip]
Saving to: `ISPConfig-3.0.3.2.tar.gz'

100%[======================================>] 3,023,700 863K/s in 4.7s

2011-03-24 09:26:00 (622 KB/s) - `ISPConfig-3.0.3.2.tar.gz' saved [3023700/3023700]

[Thu Mar 24 09:26:09 2011] [warn] NameVirtualHost 192.168.1.100:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Thu Mar 24 09:26:09 2011] [warn] NameVirtualHost 192.168.1.100:443 has no VirtualHosts
[Thu Mar 24 09:26:11 2011] [warn] NameVirtualHost 192.168.1.100:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Thu Mar 24 09:26:11 2011] [warn] NameVirtualHost 192.168.1.100:443 has no VirtualHosts
chown: cannot access `/var/vmail/dsad.dsa/$_POST[username]': No such file or directory


-----------------------

I tried to create the above directory, but it just makes [username]. Is there a way just to delete this job queue so I can have it do the rest?
__________________
Debian 7.4 Server:
ISPConfig Version: 3.0.5.3

Please visit my Mini-howto, "How To Create Remote API Scripts For ISPConfig 3"

Last edited by otacon; 24th March 2011 at 15:39.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24th March 2011, 15:43
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Quote:
I delete the locked file, but it just comes back.
Thats ok, it means that ispconfig is processing the jobqueue and to prevent that a second queue process is started, it locks the queue until it is finished.

Please delete all entrys in the sys_remoteaction table in the ispconfig database with phpmyadmin.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24th March 2011, 15:58
otacon otacon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 109
Thanks: 5
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
 
Default

so I deleted all the rows (not any fields though), deleted the locked filed and ran the debugging manually.

Nothing pops up.


So I guess I will give it some time to clear the job queue and see if it works..




BTW: Till you are awesome.. I would dare to say that you are awesomeness in a box.. (more condensed awesomeness)


--------------

It has been an hour and it says "There is already an instance of server.php running. Exiting." for half an hour, then "There is already a lockfile set. Waiting another 10 seconds..."


As you have told me the lockfile is there so ispconfig will not do multiple things at a time and trip over itself, so when it alternates like the list below.

2011-03-24 11:17 server1.remcycle.net Debug There is already a lockfile set. Waiting another 10 seconds...
2011-03-24 11:17 server1.remcycle.net Debug There is already a lockfile set. Waiting another 10 seconds...
2011-03-24 11:17 server1.remcycle.net Debug There is already a lockfile set. Waiting another 10 seconds...
2011-03-24 11:17 server1.remcycle.net Debug There is already a lockfile set. Waiting another 10 seconds...
2011-03-24 11:17 server1.remcycle.net Debug There is already an instance of server.php running. Exiting.
2011-03-24 11:16 server1.remcycle.net Debug There is already a lockfile set. Waiting another 10 seconds...
2011-03-24 11:16 server1.remcycle.net Debug There is already a lockfile set. Waiting another 10 seconds...
2011-03-24 11:16 server1.remcycle.net Debug There is already a lockfile set. Waiting another 10 seconds...
2011-03-24 11:16 server1.remcycle.net Debug There is already a lockfile set. Waiting another 10 seconds...
2011-03-24 11:16 server1.remcycle.net Debug There is already a lockfile set. Waiting another 10 seconds...
2011-03-24 11:16 server1.remcycle.net Debug There is already a lockfile set. Waiting another 10 seconds...
2011-03-24 11:16 server1.remcycle.net Debug There is already an instance of server.php running. Exiting.
2011-03-24 11:15 server1.remcycle.net Debug There is already a lockfile set. Waiting another 10 seconds...
2011-03-24 11:15 server1.remcycle.net Debug There is already a lockfile set. Waiting another 10 seconds...
2011-03-24 11:15 server1.remcycle.net Debug There is already a lockfile set. Waiting another 10 seconds...


I am guessing that when it complains about another instance it is starting the next job in the queue. I have not seen anything drop from the job queue yet, but I completely understand that it may just take time for it to change the information due to the backup... just wish I could tell if it was working or not.



--------------

This is what I get from


server1:/var/vmail/dsad.dsa/$_POST[username]# /usr/local/ispconfig/server/server.sh
24.03.2011-12:21 - DEBUG - Set Lock: /usr/local/ispconfig/server/temp/.ispconfig_lock
24.03.2011-12:21 - DEBUG - Found 199 changes, starting update process.
24.03.2011-12:21 - DEBUG - Calling function 'user_insert' from plugin 'mail_plugin' raised by event 'mail_user_insert'.
24.03.2011-12:21 - DEBUG - Created Maildir /var/vmail/dsad.dsa/$_POST["username"] with subfolder:
24.03.2011-12:21 - DEBUG - Set ownership on /var/vmail/dsad.dsa/\$_POST\["username"\]

--------------------------

Ok so I deleted the \$_POST\["username"\] and create mkdir '$_POST["username"]'


Woot the queue is now empty.
__________________
Debian 7.4 Server:
ISPConfig Version: 3.0.5.3

Please visit my Mini-howto, "How To Create Remote API Scripts For ISPConfig 3"

Last edited by otacon; 24th March 2011 at 18:39.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Redirecting subdomains to external websites wikidd General 5 21st August 2010 16:39
Redirecting all Subdomains maweki Installation/Configuration 3 19th August 2009 14:31
DNS confusion and setting up subdomains on ISPConfig on Ubuntu 6.06 wctaelectronics Installation/Configuration 3 9th May 2008 01:25
Direct url to user websites? lolmannz General 6 15th March 2008 19:34
Domains aliases and subdomains galphanet Feature Requests 2 26th December 2007 17:15


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.