Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 22nd March 2011, 14:20
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Have you tried to optimize Apache?

http://www.howtoforge.com/configurin...um_performance

Do you use a PHP opcode cacher (eAccelerator, Xcache, APC)? This will help decrease the load.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 22nd March 2011, 15:22
lewis_saint lewis_saint is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
Have you tried to optimize Apache?

http://www.howtoforge.com/configurin...um_performance

Do you use a PHP opcode cacher (eAccelerator, Xcache, APC)? This will help decrease the load.
Without FastCGI, my system appears to run fine now. There are 60 or so less processes and RAM usage has halved...
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to lewis_saint For This Useful Post:
falko (23rd March 2011)
  #13  
Old 17th May 2011, 15:48
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,262
Thanks: 78
Thanked 24 Times in 20 Posts
Default

@lewis_saint: did you stick with mod_PHP for now?

I have a similar problem, see my thread: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=51081

basically I changed one variable to close php-cgi processes that weren't used faster:
IdleTimeout 300 (original value was 3600)

and now I have the problem that my disk IO is quite high....
so far it looks like in my case its mysql that is causing high HD latency and IO
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 17th May 2011, 15:50
lewis_saint lewis_saint is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I've had no problems with mod_php. Far less memory usage.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 18th May 2011, 00:17
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,262
Thanks: 78
Thanked 24 Times in 20 Posts
 
Default

I know all that, but with mod_php one site owner can/could access the other one's stuff...
so I need to run with fastCGI, just wanted to see where you were headed since we had similar probs...
good luck
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.