Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th March 2011, 20:56
dkdzn dkdzn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default vhost and sym links not syncing up

Hello,

ISPConfig has worked flawlessly so far. But, now there is a problem I don't understand.

When I set up a new subdomain (I know, you have to create a whole new site using ISPConfig's website tab... not the subdomain tab)... it creates the subdomain (sub.domain.com) and registers it... but the symlinks and what it says in the vhosts files in /etc/apache2/sites-enabled and sites-available are different.

If I use and FTP program to follow the symlink it'll go to /var/www/clients/client_1/web_33.

But in the vhost files for that new subdomain (sub.domain.com.vhost) the directory says /web_35.

Am I doing something wrong? Or is there a problem with ISPConfig.

TIA,
~dkdzn
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th March 2011, 21:11
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,561
Thanks: 791
Thanked 4,978 Times in 3,899 Posts
Default

Did you create a subdomain or a new website? Subdomians are aliases for websites and dont have a own vhost file.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th March 2011, 21:13
dkdzn dkdzn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No. Like I said... I created a new website. I did not use the subdomain section of ISPconfig even though it's "sub.domain.com". You were very specific about that last time and I've noticed it a common issue.

This time I definitely used the main website section.

~dkdzn
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th March 2011, 21:26
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,561
Thanks: 791
Thanked 4,978 Times in 3,899 Posts
Default

Which ISPConfig version do you use? Did you created a website sub.domain.com.vhost before or did you renamed the website (web33) from sub.domain.com.vhost to another domain before you created the new website?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th March 2011, 21:32
dkdzn dkdzn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm using ISPConfig Version: 3.0.3.1.

I don't understand what you're asking me.

I did notice that when I delete the old website using ISPConfig and then recreate it with the same address (sub.domain.com) it creates the new directory with a new number (web_36) and creates new vhost files that are right (web_36) but the symlink is still going to a wrong directory (web_32).

~dkdzn
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8th March 2011, 21:34
dkdzn dkdzn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No... this is the first time I every created the website with that subdomain. (sub.domain.com).

The top-level domain (domain.com) has existed for a long while. I've also successfully created dozens of subdomains for it in the past (with your help before in the past before).

~dkdzn
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 8th March 2011, 21:35
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,561
Thanks: 791
Thanked 4,978 Times in 3,899 Posts
Default

Quote:
but the symlink is still going to a wrong directory (web_32).
So this symlink existed before you created the new website?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 8th March 2011, 21:40
dkdzn dkdzn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I don't know. It may have... I've created and deleted domains and subdomains multiple times throughout the months. It's not been a problem.

As to whether or not web_32 existed (or web_33... which is where the old but also wrong symlink went) ... I don't know.

The reason I'm using ISPConfig is so that I don't have to worry about that stuff and to make my life easier.

~dkdzn
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 8th March 2011, 21:47
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,561
Thanks: 791
Thanked 4,978 Times in 3,899 Posts
Default

Ok. But if we want to find the reason for the problem, I need to have to ask such questions. There were problems with not completely deleted symlinks in older ispconfig releases. Please update to ispconfig 3.0.3.2, then remove that symlink on the shell and edit a setting in the website (e.g. change the quota or enable a checkbox) and click on save, so that ispconfig recreates the symlink.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 8th March 2011, 21:51
dkdzn dkdzn is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

I understand... that's why I love ISPConfig... because it's still in active development and not abandoned.

Do I just download the new version and upload? How to I upgrade?

~dkdzn
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.