#1  
Old 7th March 2011, 14:43
dayjahone dayjahone is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 421
Thanks: 31
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Additional IP Address

How do I add additional IP addresses on a system running ubuntu hardy heron and ispc2?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 7th March 2011, 18:13
germinator germinator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: /root
Posts: 51
Thanks: 7
Thanked 16 Times in 9 Posts
Default

do you only have additional ips or a new subnet ?

in both ways this should work .. edit your /etc/network/interfaces and add

Code:
up ip addr add yourip/32 dev eth0
down ip addr del yourip/32 dev eth0
of course you have to insert yourip and the network adapter if nessesary

then restart the service networking

Last edited by germinator; 7th March 2011 at 18:18.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th March 2011, 01:11
dayjahone dayjahone is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 421
Thanks: 31
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It's the same subnet. In /etc/network/interfaces, do I just add another line:

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address [original ip address]
netmask ...
gateway ...

iface eth0:0 inet static
address [new ip address]
netmask ...

Last edited by dayjahone; 8th March 2011 at 01:31.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th March 2011, 15:58
germinator germinator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: /root
Posts: 51
Thanks: 7
Thanked 16 Times in 9 Posts
Default

that should work as well
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th March 2011, 12:30
dayjahone dayjahone is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 421
Thanks: 31
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Is there anything else?

I added those lines in /etc/network/interfaces and added the ip address in ISPConfig.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th March 2011, 14:45
germinator germinator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: /root
Posts: 51
Thanks: 7
Thanked 16 Times in 9 Posts
 
Default

you have to restart the networking service .. on debian you do that by

Code:
/etc/init.d/networking restart
probably works for ubuntu too. But be sure you have edited the interfaces file correctly .. since you wont be able to reach the server at all if theres a mistake .. im saying this due to experience :P
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Postfix queue problem? murunix Server Operation 7 2nd May 2011 01:55
Odd Spam behaviour itsnedkeren Installation/Configuration 1 11th December 2010 14:20
Being Spammed/Hacked/Probed not sure PLEASE HELP! kresser General 10 29th October 2010 17:25
Sending mail ISPConfig 3 but not receivind catza Installation/Configuration 20 19th May 2010 12:47
Sending emails with custom FROM email address merisor Installation/Configuration 4 8th February 2010 16:27


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.