Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th June 2006, 21:29
Ronald Ronald is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unhappy Once again: question about hostname etc.

Once again, the hostname question.

During the install of Redhat FC2 I named the machine: mymach.mydom.nl.
All appeared to work well (on different networks), using DHCP.
Recently I deemed it neccesary to change the name of the machine to mymach.mydom.

The network info on the linux client states the new name of the machine,
which is equal to the hostname -a output (mymach.mydom),
as (optional DHCP) hostname in Ethernet settings in the General tab AND hostname in the DNS tab.

However:
1 - the name of the linux client does not appear in DNS nor in DHCP (in my router) info
2 - therefore I'm not able to ping the linux client (on its DHCP ip-address given)
3 - I cannot connect to my mysql database(s) using: mysql -u <user> -D <database> -h mymach.mydom

The only way to achieve (2 and 3) is to add the machine with a fixed ip_address in /etc/hosts, which I (obviously) do not seek/intend.

How do I make things happen?

I hoped to find a suitable answer in the forum, but I haven't.

Thanks in advance, Ronald.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th June 2006, 12:24
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
 
Default

I think the easiest solution would be to undo the hostname change...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
question about hostname and domain Ovidiu Installation/Configuration 26 8th March 2006 10:56
changing hostname mwebb Installation/Configuration 2 6th January 2006 18:03
Question about 'localhost' as Hostname Lil'Brudder Installation/Configuration 2 31st October 2005 09:58
What should hostname be? Lil'Brudder General 2 19th October 2005 10:08
Server Hostname and IPSConfig Lil'Brudder Installation/Configuration 2 14th October 2005 12:46


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.