Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th February 2011, 12:59
snowweb snowweb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Exclamation mydomain.com/roundcube isn't working

My first domain created works fine when I visit http://mydomain.com/roundcube but domains created since then won't go to roundcube.

The problem is that I can't figure out how come the first domain works, since there is no obvious reason why it should, therefore I can't figure out how to make the later domains work like it.

Please can someone give me some pointers?

Thanks.

Peter
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th February 2011, 14:54
8omas 8omas is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 148
Thanks: 16
Thanked 35 Times in 26 Posts
Default

How did you set up roundcube? Did you use your package system or did you install it manually?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th February 2011, 15:24
snowweb snowweb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Honestly, I can't remember now. It was a few months back, but I suspect that I just followed whatever ISPConfig advised as the easiest route, which I guess was the package manager.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th February 2011, 17:17
snowweb snowweb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Does anyone know the answer to this please?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th February 2011, 17:42
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,022
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,653 Times in 4,462 Posts
Default

Roundcube should always be installed into its own website. So to install roundcube, create a new website for the subdomain roundcube.yourdomain.tld and then install roundcube into that website. If you used a different setup, I recommend that you change it in this way.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28th February 2011, 20:13
8omas 8omas is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 148
Thanks: 16
Thanked 35 Times in 26 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Roundcube should always be installed into its own website. So to install roundcube, create a new website for the subdomain roundcube.yourdomain.tld and then install roundcube into that website. If you used a different setup, I recommend that you change it in this way.
Why is that?
I have installed roundcube, in /var/www/roundcube and everything is working all right. Every domain has a http://domain.com/webmail and everything seems ok. Every user has to login with hismailbox@hisdomain.com and he can do this from http://www.hisdomain.com/webmail

I have looked around and everybody suggests to install roundcube in it's own domain. Am I missing something? Is there any problem with such an installation? A bug may? Security Issue????
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st March 2011, 01:56
snowweb snowweb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Unhappy

Hmm... what a nightmare! Not really the answer I was looking for. One might be forgiven for expecting the package manager to know how to install it, don't you think?

I'll read up on how to perform a manual install and try and do it, without it breaking three other things (as seems so often be the case with Linux).

Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1st March 2011, 03:09
snowweb snowweb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

There seems to be as many different ways to install Roundcube as there are servers. Is this the method that ISPConfig supports please?

http://www.howtoforge.com/roundcube_webmail_ispconfig

The above link mentions using the 'ISPConfig Update Manager', but I can't see anyway to make it do it, so if you guys thing the manual install detailed in the link above is the way to go, I'll give it a try.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 1st March 2011, 03:24
snowweb snowweb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

In reviewing the method I proposed earlier (), I notice that it says,

Quote:
Step 1 - Create a website:

In ISPConfig, create a website via “New site” in the main menu.
On the tab called “Basis” use webmail for the hostname and myhostingcompany.tld for the domain name. Enable MySQL and PHP scripts for this website but disable PHP Safe Mode. RoundCube makes use of .htaccess files. To allow these files within your website, add the following lines within the Apache directive field of your website:
Even from this very first step, unfortunately this tutorial cannot be followed, because I imagine that it means go to 'Sites' > 'Add New Website', then click the tab called 'Basis', but I don't have any tab called 'Basis' or anything remotely similar.

Is there a method/guide which ISPConfig endorses and is accepted by most as been 'acceptable'? If so, please can you point me to it?

Thanks for your patience.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 1st March 2011, 03:38
snowweb snowweb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 32
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
 
Default

Sorry about the multiple posts.

I just found this guide which appears to be followable but it looks like it will put install Roundcube into /usr/share, which is where it was before I just removed it and not into /var/www/roundcube

Till says:
Quote:
Roundcube should always be installed into its own website. So to install roundcube, create a new website for the subdomain roundcube.yourdomain.tld and then install roundcube into that website. If you used a different setup, I recommend that you change it in this way.
So I guess that this guide will just put me back where I started!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig cronjob not working why? ph-tvs Installation/Configuration 3 22nd February 2011 18:29
Qemu-kVM setup vm using 2 NIC's are not working muzi Technical 1 14th February 2011 23:27
auto update svn working copy donix Installation/Configuration 0 9th June 2010 21:59
fail2ban not working linuxwannabe Installation/Configuration 1 25th January 2009 07:09
DNS stop working MZH General 3 22nd February 2008 12:10


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.