Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10th March 2006, 13:11
nenad nenad is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 415
Thanks: 13
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default PHP Problem

Hi,

I set up ISPCOnfig on Fedora Core 3.
I insatlled Joomla!

And I have a PHP problem:

I can't turn off "safe mode".
It is set as "off" in php.ini

When I look at php info, there is information that:
Local value for "Safe mode" is: ON
Master value for "Safe Mode" is: OFF

How can I set "LOCAL" value for php.ini ?
And what are "local" and "master" values anyway ?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10th March 2006, 15:39
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

You must disable PHP Safe Mode for this web site in ISPConfig.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th March 2006, 01:59
nenad nenad is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 415
Thanks: 13
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

How to change:

memory_limit 8M 8M

to 16M or 32M

Changes in
/root/ispconfig/php/php.ini
or
/etc/php.ini

are accepted but not applied
__________________
Nenad Bulatovic
---------------
Debian Lenny & ISPConfig 3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th March 2006, 10:52
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nenad
/root/ispconfig/php/php.ini
That's the php.ini of ISPConfig, it has nothing to do with your main PHP.

Please create a PHP script with
PHP Code:
<?php
phpinfo
();
?>
in it and access it in your browser. It will tell you the location of your php.ini. Then modify it and don't forget to restart Apache.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th March 2006, 13:14
nenad nenad is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 415
Thanks: 13
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

I prefer:

updatedb
locate php.ini

which gives me again:
/etc/php.ini

The problem was that I forgot to restart httpd

Thanx a lot for remiding me!

P.S.
But I your sript too ;-)
http://www.web-hosting-solutions.biz/phpinfo.php
__________________
Nenad Bulatovic
---------------
Debian Lenny & ISPConfig 3
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th March 2006, 16:07
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,977
Thanks: 825
Thanked 5,369 Times in 4,216 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nenad
I prefer:

updatedb
locate php.ini

which gives me again:
/etc/php.ini
A general remark: This finds a file named php.ini. This must not be the php.ini used by your PHP setup.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26th March 2006, 20:09
nenad nenad is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 415
Thanks: 13
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

It finds:

/etc/php.ini
/root/ispconfig/php/php.ini
__________________
Nenad Bulatovic
---------------
Debian Lenny & ISPConfig 3
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26th June 2006, 22:52
schmidtedv schmidtedv is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany, Kaarst
Posts: 152
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to schmidtedv Send a message via Skype™ to schmidtedv
Default

well, if I should disable popen() and proc_open() -functions in php.ini...should this be enough to change it for the user-webs or should / can I disable them in the ispconfig-php.ini too??

See http://www.heise.de/security/news/meldung/73837 for info...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27th June 2006, 11:21
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,977
Thanks: 825
Thanked 5,369 Times in 4,216 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schmidtedv
well, if I should disable popen() and proc_open() -functions in php.ini...should this be enough to change it for the user-webs or should / can I disable them in the ispconfig-php.ini too??

See http://www.heise.de/security/news/meldung/73837 for info...
That popen is similar to exec is not really new as Heise described themself. It is a good idea to disable it for users, when you users do not use these functions. But ISPConfig uses popen in several scripts so it is a bad idea to disable it in the ispconfig php.ini.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27th June 2006, 11:59
davemacd davemacd is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

I had a similar type of issue where my script (Gallery) was telling me that safe mode was on. I checked the php.ini file and safe mode was definitely set to off.

I then realised that phpinfo was telling me that local mode was on (ie: safe mode was enabled for the site I was calling the script from) even though the global setting was off.

After much investigation I found the file;

/etc/apache2/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf

And sure enough there were entries in there

php_admin_flag safe_mode On

I amended this to Off.

There were two entries, one specific to my site but another which I assume is the default variable. I also switched that off.

Once restarting apache all is working great.

Don't know if this is the correct way to resolve it but it works for me !
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"unknown filter" growing apache log. wwparrish Installation/Configuration 6 1st September 2006 18:40
all my site go to /var/www/ Absolusteph Installation/Configuration 14 11th March 2006 21:27
turn off "PHP Scripts" problem after updated php k-dev4edv Installation/Configuration 2 7th February 2006 09:34
Sharedip Ivan Installation/Configuration 3 7th December 2005 15:36
Installation problem: PHP problem? hgoor Installation/Configuration 7 21st August 2005 22:15


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.