Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th June 2006, 05:01
Barrie Barrie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Automatic startup, automatic logon

Hi all, this is my first post and i'm asking all kinds of newbie questions right away..

1. Is it possible to have an automatic startup, with an automatic logon and all services/programs start automaticly without having a keyboard/mouse/screen connected to the computer?

I would like to know this because i would like to run a fileserver at home, without a keyboard/mouse/computer screen, which i can manually turn on and then connect to it via a remote (like ssh or a VNC).

Is this possible? And under which distro? Can i find a bit more info about this topic?

Thanks, Barrie
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 26th June 2006, 06:09
geek.de.nz geek.de.nz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to geek.de.nz Send a message via MSN to geek.de.nz
Default

There is no need to logon automatically. Services can be started at boot time without you being logged on. This should work in all distros. Automatic login is always a security risk and it wastes resources if you are not using it anyway.

Automatic startup scripts are specified in /etc/inittab (usually). From that file (and included ones) you can see what services are started in what runlevel.

Runlevels are usually stored under the /etc/rcX.d directories, where X is the runlevel number (0-6 in most unix systems). 0 being halt and 6 reset. You can define 1-5 yourself, but they are usually defined already. Usually there are comments in /etc/inittab that tell you what each runlevel is and which one is the default (id:2:initdefault: means runlevel 2 is default). For a detailed description: http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/HighQualit...OWTO/boot.html
(bookmark tldp.org ;-) ).

If you have no keyboard, the first thing you have to make sure is that you can login via ssh. This is installed by many distros as a default but not by all. If you can access the box initially with a keyboard (and maybe mouse), you can install ssh (and/or vnc).

I cannot give you a detailed howto. There are many already on the web. Just browse the howtos here and google for 'vnc howto' or similar.
__________________
Always mention at least your distribution/version! You can add it in your signature if you don't want to always type it. ;-)

Distributions:
Ubuntu 5.10 with custom kernel (2.6.16-suspend2),
Debian Sarge 3.1 and Etch

Please submit your ISP or Webhost to (free)
http://www.ihostnz.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th June 2006, 13:54
Barrie Barrie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Great reply, thank you geek.de.nz!

I would have a keyboard/mouse/monitor initially to install and setup the system, but the point is to have it running without all that and connect to it via SSH or a VNC to control the system.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th June 2006, 10:09
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

If you have SSH and VNC installed, you don't need a keyboard/mouse/monitor anymore.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th July 2006, 09:12
freedog96150 freedog96150 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nevada
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
If you have SSH and VNC installed, you don't need a keyboard/mouse/monitor anymore.
I would say this holds mostly true. I have seen some hardware/BIOS combos (albeit older) that do not allow for keyboard-less use. If you do find that the server is hanging during POST (waiting for a keyboard) check the BIOS for a keyboard setting first.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 6th July 2006, 09:32
freedog96150 freedog96150 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nevada
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barrie
I would like to know this because i would like to run a fileserver at home, without a keyboard/mouse/computer screen, which i can manually turn on and then connect to it via a remote (like ssh or a VNC).
I would setup Samba for your filesharing. Works like a charm. My Samba box serves WinXP boxes, Linux boxes and an OSx box with no one being the wiser.

Samba is relatively easy to setup and there is plenty of information already written in these forums and elsewhere.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After adding "Include vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf" httpd won;t startup mebusybody Installation/Configuration 14 2nd July 2008 18:30
Howto suggestion suse PhP ver 4 + Ver 5 wwparrish Suggest HOWTO 11 7th August 2006 14:29
Startup script? Dimitriy Installation/Configuration 1 26th June 2006 13:07
Location of ISPConfig startup command cchamb2 General 3 6th April 2006 01:02
Perfect Setup - Fedora Core 3 - saslauthd problem Median Installation/Configuration 28 29th January 2006 19:51


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.