Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 17th February 2011, 20:29
StevenD StevenD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Upgrade from 2.2.17 to 2.2.27 fails.

Hi All,

I have a problem with updating ISPConfig2 from 2.2.17 to 2.2.37, sorry put 2.2.27 in the title.
I am running Debian 6.0 Squeeze.

I have downloaded the tar.gz from ISPConfig.org and extracted the files.
I then cd into install_ispconfig and type ./setup

It all starts beavering away but then comes up with the following message.

Code:
./configure:Error: APACI failed
ERROR: Could not configure Apache
I have looked in the apache logs and see nothing around the time it was installed.

If i go to https://192.168.2.3:81 I only get a reply saying "This webpage is not available"

Any help is greatly appreciated, even if it means helping me revert back to 2.2.17 as that was working.

Thanks

Steve

Last edited by StevenD; 17th February 2011 at 21:02.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 17th February 2011, 20:32
StevenD StevenD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sorry just realised there is more to the apache setup as follows.

Code:
Configuring for Apache, Version 1.3.41
 + Warning: Your 'echo' command is slightly broken.
 + It interprets escape sequences per default. We already
 + tried 'echo -E' but had no real success. If errors occur
 + please set the SEO variable in 'configure' manually to
 + the required 'echo' options, i.e. those which force your
 + 'echo' to not interpret escape sequences per default.
 + using installation path layout: Apache (config.layout)
Creating Makefile
Creating Configuration.apaci in src
Syntax error --- The configuration file is used only to
define the list of included modules or to set Makefile in src
options or Configure rules, and I don't see that at all:
/root/ispconfig/openssl
yes
default
no
no
no
 `$(SRCDIR)/apaci`
no
default
default
no
no
no
yes
no
default
no
default
default

./configure:Error: APACI failed
ERROR: Could not configure Apache
A little more info that happens when I try to restart it.

Code:
server:/etc/init.d# ./ispconfig_server restart
Shutting down ISPConfig system...
./ispconfig_server: line 66: /root/ispconfig/httpd/bin/apachectl: No such file or directory
ISPConfig system stopped!
Starting ISPConfig system...
./ispconfig_server: line 45: /root/ispconfig/httpd/bin/apachectl: No such file or directory
./ispconfig_server: line 48: /root/ispconfig/php/php: No such file or directory
ISPConfig system is now up and running!
Thanks

Steve

Last edited by StevenD; 17th February 2011 at 23:39. Reason: Added more information
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th February 2011, 16:33
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Check out http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-se...ze-ispconfig-2 , chapter 8 Change The Default Shell and chapter 20 ISPConfig.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
StevenD (18th February 2011)
  #4  
Old 18th February 2011, 18:53
StevenD StevenD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Falko,

Thanks for your reply.
I have done what was said, and installation did get beyond that point but when it tried to start the ISPConfig server it gave the following errors.

Code:
Starting ISPConfig system...
shell-init: error retrieving current directory: getcwd: cannot access parent directories: No such file or directory
[Fri Feb 18 17:49:48 2011] [alert] ispconfig_httpd: Could not determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.0.1 for ServerName
/root/ispconfig/httpd/bin/apachectl startssl: httpd could not be started
shell-init: error retrieving current directory: getcwd: cannot access parent directories: No such file or directory
shell-init: error retrieving current directory: getcwd: cannot access parent directories: No such file or directory
shell-init: error retrieving current directory: getcwd: cannot access parent directories: No such file or directory
shell-init: error retrieving current directory: getcwd: cannot access parent directories: No such file or directory
shell-init: error retrieving current directory: getcwd: cannot access parent directories: No such file or directory
shell-init: error retrieving current directory: getcwd: cannot access parent directories: No such file or directory
shell-init: error retrieving current directory: getcwd: cannot access parent directories: No such file or directory
ISPConfig system is now up and running!
Thanks

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th February 2011, 19:37
StevenD StevenD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK I tried to reinstall the previous version by extracting the files out of temp into /home and
/root

That seemed to work but I still cant start the server.

It seems that its the ssl that causing the problem.

The mySQL database remains intact with all the data.

See below, I a just start apachectl it start ok, but if I try apachectl startssl it cant start.

Code:
server:~# /root/ispconfig/httpd/bin/apachectl start
[Fri Feb 18 18:31:46 2011] [alert] ispconfig_httpd: Could not determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.0.1 for ServerName
/root/ispconfig/httpd/bin/apachectl start: httpd started

server:~# /root/ispconfig/httpd/bin/apachectl stop
/root/ispconfig/httpd/bin/apachectl stop: httpd stopped

server:~# /root/ispconfig/httpd/bin/apachectl startssl
[Fri Feb 18 18:33:21 2011] [alert] ispconfig_httpd: Could not determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.0.1 for ServerName
/root/ispconfig/httpd/bin/apachectl startssl: httpd could not be started
Thanks

Steve

Last edited by StevenD; 18th February 2011 at 19:40.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th February 2011, 17:07
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Try
Code:
/etc/init.d/ispconfig_server restart
If that doesn't work, check the error log in /root/ispconfig/httpd/logs.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19th February 2011, 19:03
StevenD StevenD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Falko,

Thank you again for your reply.

I tried that and it failed again with the same error.

This is what was recorded in the error log.

Code:
[Sat Feb 19 17:58:56 2011] [error] mod_ssl: Init: Unable to read server certificate from file /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/ssl.crt/server.crt (OpenSSL library error follows)
[Sat Feb 19 17:58:56 2011] [error] OpenSSL: error:0D06B08E:asn1 encoding routines:ASN1_D2I_READ_BIO:not enough data
This is the contents of ssl_engine_log

Code:
[19/Feb/2011 17:58:56 24799] [info]  Server: Apache/1.3.41, Interface: mod_ssl/2.8.31, Library: OpenSSL/0.9.8m
[19/Feb/2011 17:58:56 24799] [info]  Init: 1st startup round (still not detached)
[19/Feb/2011 17:58:56 24799] [info]  Init: Initializing OpenSSL library
[19/Feb/2011 17:58:56 24799] [info]  Init: Loading certificate & private key of SSL-aware server www.127.0.0.1:81
[19/Feb/2011 17:58:56 24799] [error] Init: Unable to read server certificate from file /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/ssl.crt/server.crt (OpenSSL library error follows)
[19/Feb/2011 17:58:56 24799] [error] OpenSSL: error:0D06B08E:asn1 encoding routines:ASN1_D2I_READ_BIO:not enough data
Thanks

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19th February 2011, 19:33
StevenD StevenD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Falko,

I have remade a new key etc by entering the following commands.
Code:
openssl req -nodes -newkey rsa:2048 -keyout myserver.key -out server.csr
openssl genrsa -des3 -out server.key 1024
openssl x509 -req -days 365 -in server.csr -signkey server.key -out server.crt
I then copied the server.key into /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/ssl.key
copied server.crt into /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/ssl.crt
and copied server.csr into /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/ssl.csr/server.csr

I basically just followed the steps upto and including step 4 here - http://www.akadia.com/services/ssh_t...rtificate.html

I then restarted the server using /etc/init.d/ispconfig_server restart

All worked ok.

I'm just wondering if this is a correct fix?

One thing it no longer asks me for a passphrase when starting the server like it used to?

By the way I have backed up any of the files that I have replaced just in case.

Thanks for your time.

Steve

Last edited by StevenD; 19th February 2011 at 19:37.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20th February 2011, 23:12
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenD View Post
One thing it no longer asks me for a passphrase when starting the server like it used to?
That's how it's supposed to be. Take a look at http://www.ispconfig.org/ispconfig-2...r-ispconfig-2/ :

"In step 7 (“Encrypting RSA private key of CA with
a pass phrase for security [ca.key]“)and step 8 (“Encrypting
RSA private key of SERVER with a pass phrase for security
[server.key]“) of the certificate creation process
you are asked if you want to encrypt the respective key now.
Choose n there because otherwise you will always
be asked for a password whenever you want to restart the ISPConfig
system which means it cannot be restarted without human interaction!"
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
StevenD (21st February 2011)
  #10  
Old 21st February 2011, 00:12
StevenD StevenD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Thanks Falko,

I must have done it wrong when I set it up originally over 2 years ago, I just thought it was the norm.

Once again your support has been fantastic.

Steve
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtual Users Domains Postfix Ubuntu 8.04 clamav fails after upgrade almeister9 HOWTO-Related Questions 10 20th June 2009 01:42
ISPConfig Upgrade 2.2.23 --> 2.2.29 Fails giganet Installation/Configuration 2 23rd December 2008 22:43
Upgrade ISPconfig 2.2.27 to 2.2.29 PHP is not upgraded raymonvdm Installation/Configuration 3 20th December 2008 13:05
/tmp filled after 2.2.27 upgrade wpwood3 Installation/Configuration 1 2nd November 2008 14:54


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.