Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th June 2009, 17:22
Slowhand Slowhand is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 96
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Newb: Please get me started on a Drupal multisite install

Hi,

Not sure if this is the right forum for this...

I'm using Ubuntu 8.04 LTS...

I want to set up about four sites, each running the same instance of Drupal, for ease of maintenance.

The sites *do not* want to share users etc, although at least one will be using subdomains.

What is the best way to go about this?

So far I have created all the sites in ISPc3, along with their databases.

I have downloaded Drupal 6 into /usr/share/drupal

Do I create a symlink from /usr/share/drupal to each of my sites?
Perhaps I just symlink /usr/share/drupal/sites to each of my sites?

Should I *copy* the /usr/share/drupal/sites folder to each of my sites?

Get me started please

Slowhand

Last edited by Slowhand; 26th June 2009 at 17:41.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 26th June 2009, 18:19
tom tom is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 492
Thanks: 8
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Here you will find several howtow for your desire here
http://drupal.org/node/43816

Maybe you prefer an library to install. Look here
http://drupal.org/node/124268
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tom For This Useful Post:
tomus (23rd November 2010)
  #3  
Old 27th June 2009, 10:00
Slowhand Slowhand is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 96
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom View Post
Here you will find several howtow for your desire here
http://drupal.org/node/43816

Maybe you prefer an library to install. Look here
http://drupal.org/node/124268
Tom,

Thanks for the links.

I'd seen the first one but wasn't confident to apply it to my setup.

Am I right in thinking that the Drupal 'default' directory just needs to be *copied* into each of the sites I created with ISPc3? I then run the install.php file from each of the sites?

I installed Drupal on a different server as a single instance and remember the installer asking whether I wanted a single or a multi site install.

If I answer 'Multisite', what is it going to do?

I'm just going to have to go for it aren't I...?

S
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th June 2009, 11:13
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,446
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,214 Times in 4,089 Posts
Default

Normally you want to use a single site install and not a multisite install. Miltisite installs are only used if you have so many drupal sites that you want to share the same login and other resources.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th June 2009, 11:23
Slowhand Slowhand is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 96
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Normally you want to use a single site install and not a multisite install. Miltisite installs are only used if you have so many drupal sites that you want to share the same login and other resources.
Till,

Thanks for coming to the rescue. You know how dim I am...

I'd like all the sites to share all resources such as themes and modules but *not* users.

I found
http://drupal.org/node/53705

What I planned to do is to unpack drupal into /var/share. Already done.
Then copy the file structure in the page linked above for each of my sites.
Then symlink the example.com directory to the web folder of the site I created in ISPc3.

Does this make sense?

My problem is, how do I run the install.php file for each of my sites? It's outside the drupal/sites/example.com directory...

Do I just edit the settings.php file for each site?

S
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th June 2009, 11:26
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,446
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,214 Times in 4,089 Posts
Default

Does not make much sense in my opinion and will result in a very unsecure setup as you will not be able to use any security functions like suexec for your setup.

To setup drupal, create a website in ispconfig, download a drupal single server install into the web dierctory o the site, unpack it and runn install.php
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th June 2009, 11:32
Slowhand Slowhand is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 96
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Does not make much sense in my opinion and will result in a very unsecure setup as you will not be able to use any security functions like suexec for your setup.

To setup drupal, create a website in ispconfig, download a drupal single server install into the web dierctory o the site, unpack it and runn install.php
Till,

But then I end up with four different instances of drupal to maintain.

I thought the whole point of the Drupal multisite feature was to avoid this?

No?

S
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27th June 2009, 11:35
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,446
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,214 Times in 4,089 Posts
Default

If you really need a drupa multisite, then do it. But then you should also be aware that you can not enable any security for the 5 sites and when one of your site get hacked you might loose the whole server with all sites on it, not just the drupal sites. But thats just my opinion.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27th June 2009, 11:44
Slowhand Slowhand is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 96
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
If you really need a drupa multisite, then do it. But then you should also be aware that you can not enable any security for the 5 sites and when one of your site get hacked you might loose the whole server with all sites on it, not just the drupal sites. But thats just my opinion.
Till,

Now you're scaring me...

When you say "you can not enable any security for the 5 sites". Such as what? I very much doubt suexec would be applicable to me as I need to keep things as simple as possible.

What else would I be missing out on, security-wise?

S
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27th June 2009, 11:53
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,446
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,214 Times in 4,089 Posts
 
Default

I would not run it on my server like this and I told you that this is my personal opinion. Others might give you other advises, so there si nothing more to say about it. Your setup is fine as long as you run it as intranet server behind a firewall or without any customers on it that might try to cahnge things on your server.

Keeping things as simple as possible means also keeping things for attackers as simple as possible to hack your server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install failure -- Apache 1.3 missing? Allen15 Installation/Configuration 11 24th February 2009 09:53
can't help ispconfig to install please help steve51184 Installation/Configuration 17 20th February 2009 10:37
How to install OpenOficeOrg 3.0.0 in Ubuntu 8.04 ernesthagger HOWTO-Related Questions 43 23rd December 2008 14:42
Drupal Multisite Install bails Installation/Configuration 2 27th October 2008 21:52
ISPConfig install issues... flyingaggie Installation/Configuration 2 18th July 2008 10:46


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.