Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 16th February 2012, 18:15
Martinss Martinss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Ubuntu Server 10.04 - Software raid without touching OS hdd

Hello, I have a question about ubuntu server 10.04 software raid with MDADM.
I have server with 3 hdd's. First one, where is OS located (160gb) and two hdd's (500gb each) which I want to put in RAID1. I don't want to touch anything on my OS hdd, so what should I do different in this tutorial to put only my 500gb hdds in RAID1? I'm asking here, because I am afraid to mess things up if I directly follow that tutorial.

http://www.howtoforge.com/how-to-set...n-ubuntu-10.04
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 17th February 2012, 13:38
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Let's assume your two 500GB HDDs are named /dev/sdb and /dev/sdc.

First your format /dev/sdb with fd (Linux RAID Autodetect):
Code:
fdisk /dev/sdb
For example, if you create two Linux RAID Autodetect partitions on /dev/sdb (/dev/sdb1 and /dev/sdb2), you can set up RAID1 as follows:

Code:
sfdisk -d /dev/sdb | sfdisk --force /dev/sdc

mdadm --zero-superblock /dev/sdb1
mdadm --zero-superblock /dev/sdb2
mdadm --zero-superblock /dev/sdc1
mdadm --zero-superblock /dev/sdc2

mdadm --create /dev/md0 --level=1 --raid-disks=2 /dev/sdb1 /dev/sdc1
mdadm --create /dev/md1 --level=1 --raid-disks=2 /dev/sdb2 /dev/sdc2
Afterwards you can create file systems on /dev/md0 and /dev/md1 and mount them (you might also want to add them to /etc/fstab).

Finally run
Code:
cp /etc/mdadm/mdadm.conf /etc/mdadm/mdadm.conf_orig
mdadm --examine --scan >> /etc/mdadm/mdadm.conf
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th February 2012, 00:22
Martinss Martinss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Thanks for help! Soon I will get my second hdd and try it out.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fax server with Ubuntu server 9.10, Conexant drivers, Hylafax and Avantfax letsharehowto HOWTO-Related Questions 4 3rd July 2011 14:40
Virtual Users+Postfix+Courier+CentOS problem telnet localhost 25 stinson HOWTO-Related Questions 11 5th February 2011 13:57
Can't Ping over VPN RoMiONeT Server Operation 2 4th July 2010 00:19
Webmail problems with only one domain? compner Installation/Configuration 14 16th February 2010 16:59
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 02:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.